We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of The Lodge Hotel

The Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed for one night in a double room. The lodge was one of my best stays in a while, I travel frequently and I just loved the friendly atmosphere of this little hotel. The area in which it is situated is fine, don't be put off by some reviews. The room was clean and very spacious, with a lovely shower in the bathroom! It is very reasonably priced, as this includes a large breakfast with lots of variety. Above all I think what makes this hotel such a little gem, is that fact that all staff who work there are very friendly and approachable. Nice to receive a customer service, that even some five star establishments fail to deliver. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked to stay for one night as was going to The Dogs for a meal which was 2 minutes walk away which was great. Everywhere nice and clean. Nice big room (may have been bigger than some other rooms as booked a king size room). Decor was abit dated and id say a new bed was needed for the room we stayed in but great value for money, especially with a full english breakfast that was in with the price of £59. There was also cereals, bread rolls and pastries.
Free parking, which is always a bonus too. A great small place with everything you need.
Would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were looking for a hotel for a one night stop. We only chose this one as some other members of the family were also staying there. The price was reasonable so we booked a family room.
We were not disappointed, the rooms was very clean and comfortable, maybe a little cold but the heating soon kicked-in.
The breakfast the next morning was exceptional and the staff were all friendly and professional. We will defiantely be using this hotel again if hte need arises.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We came to Birmingham for the German Market and stayed at this hotel so we could combine it with a night at the dogs. Very friendly and helpful staff, the hotel was well worth the £59 for the night incl breakfast. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good with cereals, toast and a full English. The Greyhound track was a 2 min walk and by staying here you got free entry. We had a great night at the track which rounded of a good weekend. Taxi from the hotel to the Bullring was approx £8-9 with a local taxi firm. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOOTTONITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

had one nite there very good clean a bit dated in side the rooms but hay for £59 who can moan good cooked breakfast as much as you wanted 24hr bar good parking and free entry to the dogs cant be bad go back any day but plz in need of some new beds

Room Tip: get a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I say faultless. Now, I could be picky, impolite and irrelevant. That is however not me. I found no fault with this hotel. I stayed for two nights, as I was attending an event in Kingsheath. On arrival, I was given a room which was fantastic. Room for a double bed, ensuite, and a three piece suite! Also, a TV which I am sure was a 35/37"! The staff. Well, what can I say. You felt like you were staying in a family home, but much biogger, with personal space. There was nothing that they would not do for you, 24/7. When I went to the dining room/bar fro breakfast, everything was brilliant. I like fried bread, I mentioned it, so they did some for me.
The Lodge also has a facility which I value. For the last few years, I had stayed at a Premier Inn in Hall Green, a nice place, but something was missing - designated smoking bedrooms. Hotels/Guest Houses/B&Bs are allowed to designate some of their bedrooms as designated smoking rooms. These are not public areas. Hotel bedrooms are classed as temporary residence for paying guests, and are exempt under the Health Act 2006. As a smoker, I am grateful that hotels such as The Lodge in Hall Green designate some of their bedrooms as smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timbone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the outside this hotel looks quite modern,there is a small reception area that is quite presentable. On entering your room there is a notable difference, the furniture and fittings are worn frayed and scratched,even the floor covering in the bathroom moved about when you stood on it.Overall this is a "cheap as chips" hotel that provides basic facilities at a reasonable price. There is a breakfast offered at extra cost that is very good but sadly there is no other meals on offer,there is a small bar that only offers Carling on draught.The staff are polite and very helpfull so no compliants there, mind your car as there is alot of vans that use there carpark.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that looks onto the Greyhound track as there is some noise from there service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,240 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,195 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#45 of 118 in Birmingham
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel

Address: 151 York Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 8LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: $76 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your stay is business or pleasure one thing you can be sure of is comfort, convenience and customer care. Visiting the NEC or holding an event or conference? Business meeting in the Birmingham area? We’re perfectly located with 48 rooms available, all en-suite. Our rates are inclusive of Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing