We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel with friendly and helpful staff”
Review of The Lodge Hotel

The Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I too was put off of this Hotel due to location but on our arrival was very pleasantly surprised. We entered via the stadium entrance and was becoming slightly concerned until we went full circle and arrived outside the Lodge. It was a very pretty entrance and there was ample parking. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who immediately suggested changing our room as she said, there's a wedding in the function room nearby and it may be a little noisy later, which I thought was very considerate. Our room overlooked the greyhound track, the room was lovely and clean a good size with A couch and 28' TV, perfect for our requirements. Plenty of tea and coffee sachets. The Breakfast next morning was lovely a choice of pastries and cereals, followed by a full English breakfast,again served by such friendly and helpful staff. Would certainly recommend and will definitely stay here again when I next visit Birmingham.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the track, a nice outlook. PS ignore the rating for the pool above, click...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicewilliams38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here on Monday 20th August while he was searching for a place to live in the area.
The location was perfect for us. The hotel itself is very clean, rooms are very well sized - large double bed and a couch.
Another thing I absolutley have to mention is the staff!! They were fab!! From Jane who checked us in to Nancy who was on duty that evening and to Kay who cooked our yum breakfast! They were all great and very friendly!
The corridors could do with a lick of paint but the place is perfect for friendly staff and a homely atmosphere!
My partner found somewhere to live so I won't be staying here again - but will highly reccommend it when he has family and friends over to visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

In a bit of of a strange location on a housing estate but backs on to the local greyhound stadium, this is a newish 30 odd room Lodge.

Rooms are a really good size and well equipped.

Breakfast was very good, and all the staff (inlcuding the night porter) were really friendly.

Room Tip: Some back on to the Greyhound Track, interesting view, they could be extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Six of us spent one night in three rooms at the Lodge Hotel in April 2012. We had travelled from Manchester to stay overnight for a funeral and needed somewhere comfortable, cheap and close to the church and found the Lodge to be just the place. Although the hotel is basic the rooms were clean, large and more than adequate and the staff were welcoming, especially the lovely Donna who served us breakfast with a big smile and a friendly chat. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Good location. Hotel staff very friendly. Rooms really comfortable - best night's sleep I have had in ages. Watched the dog racing from our room window! Fantastic! Cooked breakfast the next morning was a lovely way to end our stay! Thank You The Lodge - Birmingham. :0)

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel so you can see the racing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for one night as we went to the dog racing at Hall Green. We paid £49.95 including breakfast as a special rate because we had booked into the Grandstand restaurant to watch the racing.
The hotel doesn't look great but the welcome you receive from the receptionist soon puts you at ease. The hotel has some modern looking parts and then some throw backs to the 80's with floral curtains and patterned carpets.
The rooms are a good size,clean, have a large tv and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is buffet style continental or cooked and ok. The bar open at 6pm but they will get you drinks before this time and they serve until the last residents stop drinking which was actually 10am!!
All the staff were really really friendly.
would i stay again? Yes if i was in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent 1 night at the Lodge while going to the dog racing with friends.
The area doesn't look too great when you get there and we were slightly worried about leaving the car overnight but they have good lighting and security cameras so it wasn't a problem.
Reception staff where some of the friendliest I have come across, they made us feel really welcome throughout our stay.
Room was big and comfortable, flat screen TV and additional sofa bed a real bonus. Spotlessly clean and looked like some of the furnishings were brand new. Our room was next to the bar and as it was busy we thought we would have a disturbed night but once we shut the door it was really quiet - only issue is that we like to leave the window open overnight but we could hear everyone going out to smoke, would ask for a room on the other side of the building next time.
Breakfast was ok, some items a little dry and overcooked but that was probably because we were some of the last people to get up and go down for breakfast.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was brilliant value - only a couple of mins walk to the racecourse so would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse - will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#74 of 118 in Birmingham
189 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,299 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,032 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel

Address: 151 York Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 8LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: $77 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your stay is business or pleasure one thing you can be sure of is comfort, convenience and customer care. Visiting the NEC or holding an event or conference? Business meeting in the Birmingham area? We’re perfectly located with 48 rooms available, all en-suite. Our rates are inclusive of Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing