We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Lahore Karahi Halal Chinese and Balti
Ranked #1,409 of 2,218 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Pakistani, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Heacham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for families”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

there food is good prices are reasonable too. tbh and the place is dull but service is good atmosphere is average overall i give this place 8 out of 10, its good but there are better

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    9
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I visited a few years ago and the food was ok, I went back recently with family and was utterly disappointed. The food was below par, I do not know how the restaurant is still operating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great taste and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went there for an early dinner during Christmas holidays.

Pros:
1. Excellent taste. Went for the chinese option and found the taste to be as good as any other I have had for a long time. Although i didn't try to Pakistani food but it smelled great.
2. Accepts tastecard
3. There is free parking if you get there in time
4. Nice location
5. Very friendly staff.

Cons:
1. Food is good value for money but can be bit heavy on the budget if you eat there very often.

The staff was nice enough to accept my tastecard even though I had not called before arriving(which is a requirement for tastecard). Great Pakistani hospitality

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Neither Fish nor Fowl!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Oh Dear, I can tell you that I take absolutely no pleasure in writing this review - but feel that I must!
Let's start witht the positives, the restuarant is clean and decorated in a colonial style that befits the name. The kitchen area is in full view of the diners and the service was swift, helpful and friendly.... now lets get onto the food!
We chose a starter and a Curry each from the Pakistani menu, along with poppadums to nibble and Pilau Rice and Peshwari Nann to accompany our main. The Poppadums were tasty, but very oily - not too much of an issue really. The starters, Sheek keebab and chicken Pakora, were nicely cooked and at this point we thought we had struck gold, sadly however the rest is downhill.
The Pilau arrived having been 'stir-fried' in a Wok and was hard and oily, the Lamb Bhuna it accompanied lacked depth in the sauce, which had a 'burnt' aftertaste and the meat ranged from chewy to hard in texture. The Chicken Tikka Masala - a Birmingham speciality - faired slighty better, in that the meat was properly cooked, but again the sauce had no depth of flavour. The Nann was a disgrace .. admit it guys, you warmed that up in a microwave? - soggy and doughy are the kindest words I can use, Nann is cooked in a tandoor, or at least something like!

My thoughts are that this kind of 'fusion' doesn't work - you can't cook good curries in a Wok - so stick to one thing or the other!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthofTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don’t eat here avoid!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place use to be good few years ago. But went there recently food was terrible. Service was terrible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan_Simpson_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahore Karahi Halal Chinese and Balti also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Lahore Karahi Halal Chinese and Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing