We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”
Review of Stageside Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Stageside Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are sorry - StageSide is now closed. Any patrons with StageSide reservations will have their booking transferred to Birmingham Hippodrome's Circle Restaurant or one of our hospitality suites. This will be confirmed to you by email or phone - you don't need to contact us - and if you want to adapt your reservation in anyway, you can let us know then. You're guaranteed a warm welcome at Circle Restaurant, it's conveniently situated on Middle Circle (level 3) of our foyer, a few steps from the auditorium and accessible from our Hurst Street main entrance around the corner.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Myself and partner went here before going to watch the Lion king, I had two starters as my main and both of them were absolutely delicious especially the goats cheese tart. However, my partner ordered the Herefordshire steak as coming from Hereford it only seemed appropriate but the whole meal for him was absolutely awful! The steak came out well done when asked for it to be medium, the steak had a horrid taste ( possibly from the grill or if marinated) we did mention this to the waitress but she wasn't very concerned and left us to it. It was a shame we didn't get great service as the whole restaurant had a great atmosphere and was very clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to stage side before going to watch the lion king. I booked as a present for my Nan's birthday and we both loved it!

Food was beautiful! The service was great and the we just crossed the road to get to the hippodrome after.

I would recommended this place and will defiantly visit again next time I go to a show.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathines22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic chips”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked here as we had tickets for Lion King and it allowed 25% off with a Gourmet card. My partner had the fish pie, which was a small portion but good. I had fish cakes which was a large portion and excellent, the chips were fantastic. Dessert, vanilla cheesecake with toffee sauce served in a glass was delicious. Coffee was good too. The staff were very busy but friendly and efficient. We both felt this place was excellent and ideal for the theatre which is across the road. We would eat here again even without theatre tickets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annamarie_keane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat combined with night at the Hippodrome”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having eaten here on a couple of occasions before, we weren't disappointed last week before seeing The Lion King. Good choice of food on the menu, very well cooked and presented. We also managed desserts this time, what a luxury and delicious. We were welcomed in a very pleasant manner and the service was friendly and speedy. We also returned at the interval having pre-ordered drinks, and were kept well advised of timings by the ever efficient waiting staff. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theatregoer409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great place to eat if you are going to the Hippodrome”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have eaten here several times when going to see a show at the Hippodrome (although across the street it is part of the theatre). Went last night before seeing the Lion King which was disappointing but that is another story. The restaurant is very friendly with a wide choice of food and prices from Pizza to steak. Very good value and above all lovely friendly service from the 2 waitresses on duty last night. We returned after the show, just for coffee, and received the same warm welcome and level of service. We were all adults but they do have options for children on the menu.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stageside Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Sheldon, Birmingham
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing