We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!!”
Review of Purnell's

Purnell's
Ranked #9 of 2,246 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We absolutely loved this place for a special occasion as a couple although thought it would have been better as a group as the décor is less warm and friendly than other places we've eaten. At the time we went you could order the Purnell 10' 10' 10' egg which was the nicest dessert I've ever tried.

Overall the service was fantastic, the wine and food ordered from the A la Carte menu was probably some of the most inventive and tasty food we have ever eaten - we must go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,145
    183
    89
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Omg!!! Amazing and a taste sensation !”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our first time here and just what an amazing experience..we had the Tour menu which was just "wow" -factor! Each course got more exciting..this is just such a special treat if you are a "foodie"...the wine was just beautiful as well ..would love to go back again..thank you for such a fab night !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OMG! Food, staff and atmosphere just perfect”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a birthday treat for friend Bronnagh, and have to say the experience was just perfect. The staff were attentive and friendly, the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming, and the food was perfection for the eye and the palate. Just couldnt fault the whole experience, and for £30 for 3 course lunch it just can't be beaten. Highly recommend everyone to give it a try. The day was made even better by a personally signed card from Glynn to Bronnagh wishing her a happy birthday - so sweet x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbagecaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A 60th birthday treat”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had been recommended to dine at Purnell's and from the minute we entered the restaurant to the time to leave it could barely have been better. We chose the Purnell's Tour menu of 8 or 9 courses and each one was distinctive both visually and in taste and texture. Our only slight disappointment was a bottle of 2001 Chablis which was a little past its best but a subsequent bottle of 2005 Volnay soon remedied that. Service, presentation and ambience were superb and Glynn even took the time to come over to have a chat - top bloke! A very fine dining experience which you should try if at all possible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited Purnell's to celebrate a wedding anniversary and were absolutely delighted with the experience. From the moment you walk in the door you are made to feel most welcome and that nothing is too much trouble.
We had wanted to visit for some time having been impressed with Glynn's appearances on TV and we weren't disappointed, we even saw the man himself as he came out of the kitchen! We were impressed that he was actually there.
We chose the summer menu and every course offered an excellent taste experience. We particularly enjoyed the 'Birmingham soup with pikelets'!
We've been to two 2 star restaurants recently and, whilst some of the dishes there were more technical in their construction, the flavour combinations here were on a par. Second star on the way here?
Only criticism was the wine prices. We had the same bottle of wine at one of the 2 star restaurants and it was 30% cheaper. But I'm being picky .......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OlasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purnell's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Purnell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing