We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purnell's

Purnell's
Ranked #4 of 2,195 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Wigginton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our second visit to Purnells, the first was four years ago and I felt that it was even better. We chose the Summer Menu on the grounds that the Tour Menu is always available and it is Summer after all.
The amuse bouche of leek and potato soup was lovely and the tomatoes with tomato sorbet refreshing and surprisingly tasty. The Birmingham soup was interesting and innovative and although I was not keen on the butter for the pikelet this is a very minor point. The roasted Brixham cod was beautifully cooked with a crispy skin and the pea custard complimented it well. The suckling pig superbly tender and the crackling just right. My husband said the black pudding was the best that he had ever tasted. The chocolate dome with raspberry sorbet inside was great textures and taste but I think dark chocolate rather than white would have been even better but this is my preference. Coffee and lovely petit fours and chatting to the delightful couple at the next table rounded off a great evening even if I did have to drive home!
This is a relaxed restaurant with great food all beautifully presented by attentive staff and although not cheap ideal for a celebration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    170
    84
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Purnell’s restaurant is superb dining experience from the moment you step into the restaurant you are made to feel special.

The dining experience was made even more special for me by being able to catch a glimpse of our yummy brummie every time the kitchen door swung open.

Attention to detail from the set table, to the quality of the food presented was a delight for the eyes, tantalizing the taste buds in preparation to devour the delectable morsels set before you.

The wine suggested before every course was the perfect accompaniment to each dish.

The waiters were very discrete and you only knew they were there, when they predicted they were needed.

Delightful dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were a party of 6 and we ate the 10 course taster menu with accompanying wines, the staff were unbelievably smooth and coordinated, the food was excellent and the information on the wine was very interesting, we were celebrating 3 birthdays and a wedding anniversary and would highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion, can't wait to go again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superlative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Astounding culinary experience. Loved everything about this restaurant. The food was divine, the service top notch and my partner and I had the most wonderful romantic lunch. I can not speak too highly or shower enough praise upon this fabulous restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“meal in birmingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

purnells is a really lovely restaurant the place looks very nice the food and the service outstanding we had the purnells tasting menu one of the best we have had

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purnell's also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Purnell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing