We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Attractive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #52 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
chislehurst
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Very Attractive”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a largely business style hotel in a convenient location near to the centre of Birmingham.
The food in the Restaurant is good and reasonably priced, the buffet breakfast is excellent with good hot food replaced regularly.
The down side is that the rooms are rather like prison cells, drab decorations in an unremarkable shade of beige with dark curtains and furnishings. Our room had a view in to an internal light well,with the opposite wall not very far away, you needed to be a contortionist to be able to see the sky.
It was comfortable enough for a one night stay, but would drive you crazy if you had to stay there any longer.
The Staff were attentive and friendly, but they could not make up for the fact that the Hotel in general is well overdue a facelift.

Room Tip: Try to get one with an outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveChislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    412
    251
    91
    62
See reviews for
110
360
96
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

If there was a good score rather than very good I would award it at that level. This is a reliable place to stay, secure, clean and comfortable. The food is pretty mediocre but there are lots of places to eat nearby. Rooms are fine and reasonably well equipped, they have updated the bathrooms in the superior doubles rather well. Great access to central Birmingham with great parking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed over for for the first time during the first weekend in December. Whilst being a regular visitor to Birmingham, this was the first time my wife had been and the first time, we as a couple had a night away in over 18 years. I wanted to avoid the normal type and style of a weekend break hotel so opted for The Menzies. I was not disappointed. The guys at reception, the overall look inside, the rooms and the room service (we had Christmas shopped the whole day) were faultless. Yes the rooms can be a little warm but was most welcome from the walk back from the city centre. The room was very, very clean and well laid out. The food was very reasonably priced and then room service choices was more than reasonable. Would stay again without a second thought

Room Tip: Outside rooms on a higher floor level would be a good suggestion, wonderful view of the city first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel was good - not outstanding though.

Good Points:

Free WIFI in room
Clean
Free Carparking
Food OK - Not Gourmet though
Free meal on one of the two nights I stayed (an offer)

Minor Points

Gym is small - but ok for a jog
Room was small and odd shaped (but completely comfy and kitted out in Modern furniture)

Staff

All were helpful and attentive - no gripes here

OVERALL

Yes, I would stay here again - Good for business trips -wifi, etc. Close to town centre, parking ideal. I would recommend the place :-)

Room Tip: If with a family I would select a larger room. I havent seen them but I would imagine quality is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phendrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were keen to see the German Market so we booked 2 nights (Friday & Saturday) on line wiith Olotels which was offering a great Bed and Full Breakfast deal . The Market ,which turned out to be a collection of stalls selling ludicrously overpriced food, drink, and nondescript trinkets, was a waste of time. £2.50 for a small iced doughnut ???. The Hotel was a totally different ball game. Parking the car was easy. Our check in was smooth, our room '708' spotlessly clean and well appointed, with an impressive view. and the beds were extremely comfortable.The staff were all pleasant, obliging, well informed and appeared to have been trained to a very high standard. Despite the fact that several large functions were held until late during our stay, we heard nothing. A very wide choice was offered for breakfasts. The food was fresh,well cooked and appetising. Buses run into the city from a stop directly outside the hotel. A single ticket costs £2 per adult but the £3.90 rover gives unlimited travel on the day of issue. Bargain. The only MINUS point is that the hotel has a MAJOR issue with it's hot water pressure. The basin tap flow was ok but THE OVERBATH MIXER TAP FED SHOWER produced little better than a a weak dribble. A total rethink is indicated. Overall A great hotel . Thanks for an excellent stay. Will definitely be booking it again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quietest Ask for an outward facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0wbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on a weekend away and our trip to Cadburys world. The hotel was lovely and clean and friendly. We had a room situated on the top floor facing inwards, and our view was ugly but the room was nice and standard :) would stay again staff so polite and kind. The town centre was a lovely walk and me and my boyfriend love shopping so we had a fab time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We booked our works Christmas party at the Strathallan and it has been the best night out we have ever had. The room was beautiful and festive, the food was great and the service was smooth and seamless throughout. The hotel was very busy tonight as it is the main office party night in the city but there were no delays in orders being brought to the table - plus the food was hot, the meat was tender and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. There were 25 of us all together, including several vegetarians, and without exception we all really enjoyed our meals. The staff were attentive, bringing us jugs of water on request and also coming round with extra sauce and gravy for those who needed it. It was so much nicer than the usual over-microwaved then left to go cold fare on offer round Broad Street . . . .and with a fantastic disco to round things off to perfection! We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OssyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
599 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing