We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I got a really good deal on superbreak for this hotel. Two night b n b with dinner on the first night for £99. After reading some of the other reviews i was a bit hesitant but we had a fab wknd. We turned up early and were able to check in early. Then we had a stroll on to the has street basin which took just over half an hour. Loads of nice pubs and restaurants round that area. The room was a little small but what do you expect for the price. It was also very warm in the room, our air con didn't seem to work we complained about it and it was fixed within 10 minutes. Good choice at breakfast and very pleasant helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phulst81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    391
    238
    88
    60
See reviews for
100
342
89
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The receptionist was not at all friendly! It was as if we shouldn't have been staying there..
Bar was adequate but nothing special. gym looked very small. The room was a decent size, and bathroom nice. Did not stay for dinner but just across the road was a lovely restaurant which had a wide range of options, especially for my vegetarian daughter.
Breakfast was nice, although when I asked for water (it was stated there would be some available), the waiter complied and fetched some, but instead of bringing a glass over to our table, just came over to tell us we could go and get our own! Not exactly 4 star service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

the room was very small, and without air conditioning (which happened to be unfortunate, as I've been in Birmingham probably in the hottest days of this year).
payment in advance at the arrival, which is a bit unusual for such a hotel.
great they have free wifi, it's very convenient when you travel for business.
the position is not really central, although it's quite well connected by bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was with some trepidation I booked a room here looking at some of the reviews on here - but as I was attending a function next door at the Clarendon Suites this was an ideal location.

We were very pleased with the Hotel and especially the Staff. We had booked an Executive Room which was well worth the money. It was roomy and comfortable. It was hot -(no air con) but fans were quickly provided.

Breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of cereals, fruit and hot dishes off the buffet. In addition there are a number of dishes available "cooked to order". The Kippers were very small - not worth having but the Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon were excellent. My wife dined in the Restaurant on the evening I was out and found the food excellent.

The Staff were great - friendly and helpful. The GM was very visible and approachable..

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to an Executive as they are all on the outside of this circular building and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Conference facilities appear good, accompanying food and rooms distinctly average. Rooms are small, and rather stuffy, but fairly clean. Free parking is a plus. The whole hotel seemed to have a problem with consistent heating, either stuffy and hot or freezing air conditioning. I probably wouldn't choose to stay here personally, but as a conference venue I would be ok with staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmElle428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked to stay here recently for one night - but upon arrival, found I`d booked the wrong night! the staff couldn't have been more helpful, sorted me a room and transferred payment so all sorted brilliantly and at no cost to me.
enjoyed my stay, room was small but clean and bathroom fine. breakfast really good, so would happily stay again, whether I turned up on the right day or not!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel before on business and was very happy with my stay. On my recent visit I stayed 2 nights again on business. The single rooms are very small if you are staying more than One night. In addition there is no air conditioning in the single rooms and if you open the windows it's noisy 24/7. I stayed in room 520 and the matress slopes quite significantly! No issues with parking at the front or in the secure car park, the reception staff are efficient and friendly. There is a basic gym which is available for residents use. The food is quite cheap but also quite basic. There are lots of pubs and restaurants very close to the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Cleasby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#82 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan

Property: Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Address: 225 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9RY, England (Formerly Menzies Strathallan)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#43 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan is centrally located and easy to get to. The hotel is close to Birmingham city centre and offers plenty of free parking on site. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. The Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan has 135 bedrooms including 53 brand new City Double bedrooms. The hotel also has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, bar and lounge, a small gym for hotel guests, 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 170 delegate and function rooms for weddings up to 170 guests. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Strathallan, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Menzies Strathallan Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing