We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early!”

Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #1,560 of 2,218 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $53 - $53
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
St. Helens
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Just visited the Wing Wah in Birmingham, in our way home from southern France, and it was really good food, considering it was buffet. To can order dim sum specifics to your preference, but the buffet offers a great selection of starters, soups and appetisers. The main meals consist of a wide selection of favourites off the Chinese menu. The beef in black bean was just beautiful and melted in your mouth. Lemon chicken was also beautifully cooked, sweet and sour chicken was not that horrible sickly style sauce, very subtle and moreish! My other half, who is Chinese ordered a selection of steamed dim sum, and beef brisket (one of his favourites) and he devoured it! The fact that we arrived at opening time (11:30) meant that absolutely everything was fresh. For 4 adults and 3 children the bill came to £53, which was exceptional value for money, this included a lovely selection of desserts also, little jellies, ice cream machine, profiteroles, chocolate cake, fresh fruits. Really really enjoyed it and would travel to Birmingham from Warrington for a great meal!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheincredibleHolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    68
    63
    34
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england, west mids
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dated and very limited lunch buffet”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very old and dated in comparison to Cosmos chain !! Children 1.4 m and under eat for free so good for my daughter , and whippy ice cream went down well. But very very limited at lunch :( came to £25 for the 4 of us comes so same as a mc Donald's and I have to say we were very full after a few visits to top up ! Don't think we will return as there are cleaner more up to date p,aces to go to :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cheap buffet”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was there after shopping at Wing Yip. I was surprised how much choices you got for almost 7P lunch buffet.

They got many dishes of food to choose, including duck (It is not that tasty but it gives you the feeling of "Beijing duck")

They also got choices of jelly, fruits salad, and cake.

The service personnals were okay. One of them looked upset all the time, but the others were nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L-i-Y-i-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Doesn't matter how great the food is if the hygiene is still so terrible”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Dirty bowls again. Food was ok, Portions seem to be getting smaller and smaller. Go to Shanghai Blues or China Court in Chinatown instead!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joneats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Dim sum on Sunday morning is great!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I got a liking for dim sum in Hong Kong and unfortunately its pretty hard to get here. But Wing wah in Aston does it, presumably because of the demand from the Chinese rstaurant owners who are stocking up at the chinese supermarket across the car park - forget the buffet (which is also pretty good but the same as other buffet's) and take a look at what the Chinese are eating! It should also tell you something that the Chinese do not eat the buffet but all pretty much without exception go for dim sum - there's a bit of guess work involved the first time you go but they have a picture card to help - and as westerners there are somethings to avoid but if you haven't tried it - and you like Chinese food its well worth the experience. And not that expensive. Everything tends to come at once but that's just all part of the experience.

Dim sum should be bigger in this country in my opinion - I go regualarly with my three little girls and they all are converted too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing