We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinnaree Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Kinnaree Thai Restaurant
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Kinnaree makes the most of its prime spot in Birmingham’s Holiday Wharf building, the long glass, ground floor frontage framing the canalside views rather beautifully. A lot of care has clearly gone into decorating the large, peaceful dining space, at the centre of which is an elegant Thai longboat. All hundred+ ‘home-cooking’-style dishes are served in generous portions on ornate gold-effect bowl by considerate, attractively-dressed Thai staff. Bestsellers include chicken satay, and spare ribs, grilled then steamed until tender.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had a good time in this restaurant, decor is great however the food was a little dissappointing compared to other Thai restaurants.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nurun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    36
    18
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food and drink was excellent here, but sadly I think the service could have been better. I think we were kept waiting two hours for our bill even though at the time we went it wasn't busy. I also think a service charge should be optional, which it is not at this restaurant. The prices are reasonable and food good, so I would probably come again, but a few changes would make a big difference.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, service and environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A tasty, great choice menu with excellent service. Pleasure to eat there and will certainly return. The lotus tea was exceptional.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marketing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderfully fresh and fragrant food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves here - lovely service and delicious fresh and zingy food. We followed the recommendation of another reviewer and went for the "Rathanakosin Era" set menu which was great value for £25 and meant we got to try a little of everything. Everything was so flavoursome! Top marks for the chicken satay which is usually quite run-of-the-mill in other restaurants but in this one stopped me in my tracks - delicious! The setting is really pretty - our table looked out onto the canal. We had pre-booked for a birthday meal and at the end with our bill I was presented with an icecream sundae with a candle on top by the waitresses - a lovely touch. If you have a Gourmet Card, use it here - the restaurant offers 25% including drinks for Gourmet card holders, which is a great deal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My cousin and I had a very pleasant dining experience here on a Saturday evening. We went for the £25 'Rathanakosin Era' set menu, which was very good.

The chicken satay and spring rolls were the highlight of the first course, and the punchy soup that followed has a good kick to it.

The two curry dishes in the main course were the stand-out dishes.

I will return with my wife in tow next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanTMcAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinnaree Thai Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Sheldon, Birmingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing