We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gutted!”

La Plancha Spanish Tapas & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #193 of 2,220 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Moseley and Kings Heath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gutted!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This place used to be my favourite restaurant, the atmosphere was great, location perfect and food amazing, in fact I have previously given La Plancha a 5 star rating on trip advisor. Although the atmosphere and location hasn't changed the food has gone downhill dramatically. It is like they have opted for cheaper ingredients which has effected the quality of the dishes. I had hoped my experience to be a one off but have returned numerous times over the past few months with no change. Won't be going again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mickyblueeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    76
    24
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A bit of Spain in Brum”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A nice change for moseley village among the chippies curry houses and take always a nice little Oasis in our area ice cold Draught SAn Miguel conjures up the costa del sol as Vegans we don't partake in the Tapas that tends to be meat related but it's allways busy and buzzing

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brumlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic meal location”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent food and service! We visited for our wedding anniversary, the staff were friendly and helpful as it was our first time to a tapas venue they recommended we did not over order (as most novices do) and the size of the meal was perfect. I would highly recommend for either a romantic meal or a group of you on a night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Little jewel”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great snap - better than food eaten in spain. Calamari so tender, prawns fresh n well cooked and tomatoes in salad extremely tasty. Go n see what u think

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazmo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farningham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely birthday meal!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here last week for his birthday dinner after hearing good reviews from family members. We definitely were not disappointed!
The restaurant is set amongst a row of shops and restaurants in the centre of Moseley and is decorated in an authentic Spanish style.
We ordered far too much food for the two of us but ate it all because it was delicious. We had foccacia bread with olive tapenade, oven roasted peppers with feta cheese, meatballs in a tomato sauce, lamb koftas with a tzatiki dip, grilled pork baked in paprika, chicken & chorizo couscous and a tomato and red onion salad. The reason we ordered so much food is because whenever I have previously been for tapas the portion sizes have been small - this is not the case at La Plancha so don't order too much.
We received good service and I did not think the meal was overpriced for the quality. Would definitely visit this restaurant again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKVingoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plancha Spanish Tapas & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to La Plancha Spanish Tapas & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing