We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish people enjoyed their job...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Epernay - CLOSED

Bar Epernay
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: "Bar Epernay is part of one of Birmingham's most exclusive developments, The Mailbox. Perfect, really, when it's target audience is big spenders. It looks as French and sophisticated as it sounds. There's a centrepiece trendy open-flame fire, and cool music, which lunchtimes and evenings emanates live from the revolving grand piano. Bar Epernay serves good, brasserie-style food - lots of fish and seafood like oysters, lobster tail and pan-fried king scallops to accompany a 23-strong champagne offering; four by the glass. There's always a bubbly of the month, such as Moet & Chandon Grand Vintage 2000, £37.50 (usually £55). Vintage champers and non-vintage prices? Chin, chin! "
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish people enjoyed their job...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our party of three arrived on a Sunday afternoon to enjoy a drink on the terrace. We approached the bar and greeted with most lack luster approach to saying hi to another human. My girlfriend ordered an espresso but they found it hard she wanted a coffee not a espresso martini. We ordered 2 natural daiquri as they only had butter scotch ones on the menu. We request it be made with mount gay rum and it seemed to be a bit of a issue. Through the construction of the drink we were addressed as 'they' . They ended up having to use a different rum but decided not to tell us. The cocktail was made to the manner I would expect of someone's first day. What was really upsetting was the barely audible thank you as we walked away. At no point did anyway smile, be warm and acted as if this was a just another day at prison. We have between us over 17 years working in bars and restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    128
    42
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Champagne Lunch to Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I used a Groupon Voucher at this restuarant to enjoy a 'Two Course Lunch for Two with a Glass of Champagne each'. We noticed that many of our fellow diners were on the same deal. (All of us using our vouchers before they expired). We were allowed to choose any Starter and any Main from the A La Carte Menu with any exception of Steak (Supplement payable) or we could have had a Sweet Course instead of a Starter. My wife opted for the Baked Camembert Starter with Baked Salmon & Cous-Cous to follow. I had the Seered King Prawns followed by the Calves Liver with Mash. The food was excellent both in quality and preparation. This restuarant is well a visit and is situated in a lovely setting besides the Birmingham Canals (part of the Mailbox Complex of high quality shops and restuarants) Very often (particularly on Sundays) there is a pianist happily tickling the keys in the background adding even more atmosphere to the occassion. Do try we are sure you will enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ZZZZZZzzzz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place yes I did say great place but my steak was crap as usual. Not sure what is happening lately where have all the quality managers and chefs gone?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank opimusnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“lovely cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Brilliant place to go for a nice cocktail with the piano playing, makes you feel like you are on a nice cruise ship somewhere. Very busy as we went in Friday & Saturday night 7 had to wait for a seat both nights. but definitely worth it for the Coconut Mojito.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went for Sunday Lunch on a Groupon deal and were really impressed. The food and service were excellant and with the live piano music it was a lovely atmesphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUPERBAGGIESBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Epernay also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing