We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to go for a punjabi curry x”

Rajdoot - Birmingham
Ranked #384 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Rajdoot Birmingham is situated at the gateway of the cities famous Jewellery Quarter and is itself a jewel in the crown of the pioneering chain of fine tandoori restaurants. Our masterful chefs are specially trained in India and have been preparing traditional authentic North Indian cuisine for over 40 years.Relax in the exotic yet convivial ambience of our award-winning restaurant, and enjoy the authentic flavours of out tandoori specialities cooked in traditional clay ovens. Enjoy a delicious informal three course executive lunch or bring a party for an evening of gastronomic delights in the truly inspired setting.Enjoyed by many familiar faces over the years, The Beatles, Keith Floyd and even Princess Margaret visited back in the sixties.The Rajdoot’s sophisticated flavours are still attracting the likes of Jamie Oliver and Simon Cowell."
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place to go for a punjabi curry x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fantastic food and they will always accommodate us by making dishes that are not on the menu.
The food is authentic and not full of ghee as some restaurants, plus there is no food colouring.
The atmosphere is wonderful for a quite meal in a classy Indian restaurant which can be difficult to come across in Birmingham.

I love love love this place and its my only stop for butter chicken x

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookiemonster123612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    45
    35
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surely it can be that hard!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went here last night and were pleasantly surprised by the decor, it was very nice and clean so it was a good start.

We arrived at 8.30pm for a table booked at 9pm, so we decide to have a few drinks in the bar area which was nice. The service start very well, the drinks arrive quickly and our orders were taken.

At 8.50pm we were seated and our starters arrive quite quickly, I must say the were delicious! This is where is goes wrong, our mains didn't arrive until just after 10.20pm! This is poor by anyones standards, If it wasn't for us enjoy each others company we would have complain a fair while earlier. The food however was brilliant, all the dishes were great and tasted just how Indian food should.

Once finished we waited 35mins for that table to be cleared and the bill to arrive, this was once we prompted them. It really was a shame that the service ruined what could have been 4-5 star rating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best currys Ive ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Sunday visit so very quiet. Fabulous surroundings.
Great food.
Great service.
Great wine.
You pay a little more for quality and that is what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Northern Indian in City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have been visiting the Rajdoot for over thirty years and you will be hard pushed to find better Northern Indian and traditional Tandoori in the city centre.Originally it was sited in Albert Street,it was then way ahead of its competitors in the City. The move to the current restaurant did not lose any of its original charm.Pricey but then it is city centre location.If you are a traditionalist and not seeking fancy fusion Indian then this is as good as it gets for Punjabi taste. The kulfi is made on site by the chef, not ice cream flavoured kulfi brought from wholesales, I have yet to find better kulfi in England to beat it.Service may be a little slow when they are busy but then I can live with that as the dishes are good.M

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slow but excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Probably the slowest and least attentive place I've eaten but the food and surroundings saved the night.

The quality of food was amazing and the spices were just right.

I don't think I would return as the service is terrible and the prices a bit high.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmcook1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajdoot - Birmingham also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Rajdoot - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing