We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but expensive for what it is.”

Rajdoot - Birmingham
Ranked #392 of 2,204 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Rajdoot Birmingham is situated at the gateway of the cities famous Jewellery Quarter and is itself a jewel in the crown of the pioneering chain of fine tandoori restaurants. Our masterful chefs are specially trained in India and have been preparing traditional authentic North Indian cuisine for over 40 years.Relax in the exotic yet convivial ambience of our award-winning restaurant, and enjoy the authentic flavours of out tandoori specialities cooked in traditional clay ovens. Enjoy a delicious informal three course executive lunch or bring a party for an evening of gastronomic delights in the truly inspired setting.Enjoyed by many familiar faces over the years, The Beatles, Keith Floyd and even Princess Margaret visited back in the sixties.The Rajdoot’s sophisticated flavours are still attracting the likes of Jamie Oliver and Simon Cowell."
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive for what it is.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ive been here a few times, with friends and family. Whilst the food is great and the restuarant very traditional in its decor, the price is a little high for what you get. I cant complain about the taste of the food, but the food served doesnt warrant the price on the menu. Should be about 15-20% cheaper in my opinion. Lots of other restaurants walking distance from rajdoot which are nicer. I don't mind the place, but prefer some of the other more contemporary ambiance restaurants at the same price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamzin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    46
    35
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easily in my top 3”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been here only once but the cuisine here is delicious, particularly the Tandoori Prawn dish. Beautiful IndoChinese atmosphere and layout. Only letdown would be the parking and the high price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food and service is has got much better.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Rajdoot of old was cursed with slow service and average food, but this is now a thing of the past. The location can mean finding parking is your main challenge, otherwise the venue is tastefully decorated and has a warm feeling to layout, even if the tables sometimes feel a bit small.
The food is good, not perfect but the menu is clear and it is served as you would expect with a solid consistency to the flavours and texture to ensures an enjoyable experience.
Prices are reasonable and this review 'just' achieves a 4 star rating, but they should and do need to keep the menu refreshed as there is a lot of competition in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK-Based-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere to this local Indian restaurant at the heart of the Jewellery Quarter.

The food is fairly reasonable, and is very tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Expectant-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best Indian restaurant we have ever been to!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Superb! Well located, beautifully appointed, good service, fantastic food. There's not a lot more to say really! I had the minced lamb and my husband had a chicken dish - both were freshly cooked and flavoursome. We would definitely highly recommend this restaurant and would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank struth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajdoot - Birmingham also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Rajdoot - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing