We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than the first time!”

Lasan Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #48 of 2,204 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Lasan is synonymous with exquisite cuisine that teases the senses and stirs the soul, delivering the true essence of India in all its glory. Experience how sublime Indian food really can be at Gordon Ramsay's Best Local Restaurant in the UK.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Even better than the first time!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our second visit to Lasan, three years after the first when they had just received the 'F Word' award. Standards had remained high, service is second to none, being addressed by our names by all staff. My husband was even offered some reading glasses to read the menu when a lens fell out of his own! We had the sharing platter to start, all succulent lay cooked food. Followed by a lamb dish, finishing with kulfi. Food is amazing, beautifully presented. Wish we loved closer as we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    209
    119
    67
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Why such praise?”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Asian resturants realise that from the 1970s onwards their food was served cheaply and considered just as a late night meal, the food is cooked well, the location of the venue is almost prime St Pauls Square, i have been several times but there is nothing motivating about the place, i think that there are better resturants on the Ladypool Road, which is where the Chef probably hails from.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
“lassn all the way.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Indian food has come a long way when it all started decades ago for being the nations fav cuisine. We as curry lovers always expect indian food to be cheap and chearfull. Now here is a restaurant which is leading the way on how much indian food should cost when dining. We dont complain if were out at an italion paying over the odds for spaghetti bolognese or even pub grub. As for asian customers , if you want "mummys style cooking" KEEP AWAY. They are the most annoying diners. In fact asian diners KEEP AWAY FROM INDIAN RESTAURANTS.. FULL STOP.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hasonraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Posh Indian”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This isn't the place to come if you're wanting to have a vindaloo or a korma. Saying that, there were a couple of items on the menu that were recognisable from the more everyday curry place. Instead, what you get is well thought out and unusual dishes with good flavourings. Worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippitydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

If you want proper service and be really looked after then come here. Yes it's a bit pricey but its worth it. Not only do you have immense food...... The staff couldn't do enough for you. You are royalty to them..... When u finish your drinks they are on it...... When you go up to the toilet they tuck your chair in and fold your napkin. Little touches are what you pay extra for..... The food is all healthy and fresh. The best cut meat..... The best ingredients and the alcohol shots are also exciting!!!!!! Lol if our have the chicken Makani dish...... It's not greasy. It's not dripping in fat. You must try the monkfish main as its to die for. Mixed starter between two people is a must too. I would love to come here every week but it's really nice to come here for very special occasions. They remember your name on your next visit. They are something else..... And they love what they do...... You can see it. PLEASE COME TO THIS RESTAURANT.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becksloveslagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lasan Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Lasan Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing