We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern English and expensive”
Review of Bank Birmingham

Bank Birmingham
Ranked #149 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $19 - $65
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Awarded for its excellent food, Bank Birmingham continues to present a first-rate choice for city centre dining in the stylish and sophisticated setting of Brindleyplace, making it a great location for business dinners or pre and post-theatre meals. Be enticed inside by a lively, yet relaxing atmosphere, within the bright and large dining area. This modern interior, complete with an open kitchen and exquisite wine rack, is complemented by covered terraces which overlook the striking 19th century canals and are perfect for al fresco dining or chilled cocktails on warm summer days. Fresh and nourishing, the menu is peppered with delicious specials, as well as a weekend brunch option.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Modern English and expensive”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a nice well established restaurant, the food is modern English and quite expensive. £28 for a steak plus extra for side orders. Waiters are polite and helpful but service from the kitchen can be slow. I am not sure why at 7-30 on Monday I was the only person eating in the restaurant.

Food and wine all satisfactory but not a knock out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 657maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    427
    204
    116
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really loved the food the atmosphere and couldn't fault the service”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I booked a table for 8pm on Saturday by the internet. We were staying at the Hyatt and this restaurant was very close and easy to get to from the hotel. We have never eaten at this restaurant before but all 4 of us were very pleased with the food, service and atmosphere. I read some of the reviews to say that the service was slow but we didn't find this and we found we weren't kept waiting for the food. What was also nice was that once we had finished our meal we were not rushed away even though we were only sitting and chatting. I think we left the restaurant approx 10.30pm and although the portions didn't seem large at the time we all said we were very full. I would eat here again if we were visiting Birmingham.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bank bar is back ”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Have only just started to going back to bank for drinks. Can only say that the staff have changed and must be the management but the service is now for you! You go in and not only do you learn about the spirits and the history but you get great cocktails Manhattan's are to die for I love them perfect and they are almost better than I used to have in New York.
Must check out !!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Dracoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“NYE Experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wonderful early NYE dinner experience, food was excellent and the staff provided a excellent dining experience. Wonderful setting too.

No pressure to move from the table early if a second sitting was booked, wonderfully evening had by all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezwil999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent enough food and service”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ate here for dinner during the week with my partner. It was pretty busy but we were seated immediately. Reasonable decor and layout, but the atmosphere was killed a little by the loud music. Staff were friendly and attentive though and helpful with recommendations. Had the lobster to share, and a dessert. Food was a bit slow to arrive but was tasty enough. Overall we had a pleasant evening but I wouldn't go overboard about the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieWibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bank Birmingham also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bank Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing