We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great gastro pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #404 of 2,195 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Edgbaston
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great gastro pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Visited this restaurant with friends and had a great night. We had scallops and sardines for starters, both were gorgeous. For main we all had Chateaubriand, one rare and one medium, again both were very tasty. For dessert, I am pleased that we had the sharing platter, this an absolute must, especially for the salted caramel chocolate pot. The restaurant had ample space and the serving staff were friendly. Bar area also nice. Well done the white swan.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnduncan_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    146
    113
    63
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Birmingham Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Called here this afternoon. No need to rush, as food is served through ton early evening. I think it's 9,30 pm.
A group of five attended. There is a varied menu of high-quality food served here, and it is definitely not the run-of-the-mill "anonymous plastic" food that is to be found in many city and suburban pubs nowadays.
All of us were catered for easily - even the person with a delicate digestive system. Service comes with a genuine smile, and was quick and efficient. Food quality is top of the range, and prices are affordable, and average for this type of food,
The atmosphere and surroundings are really good and make for a very pleasant occasion. One of our party had her birthday today, and when this quietly mentioned to the serving staff she received a complimentary drink which was a nice surprise. We also noticed someone else with the same type of drink, and it was her birthday, too.
A memorable day for our birthday girl - and all for the right reasons.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service too slow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food was really nice however the service was terrible. Basically I was forgotten in a corner. Very bad. It was the last time I went there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruialbertovrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I booked this restaurant as we were staying close by, the restaurant is modern and tastefully decorated. The food was excellent and the service was too, the lady who looked after us was very helpful. I would recommend the White Swan.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christmaslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We've driven past this place numerous times and have said about popping in and finally this afternoon we did and we were not disappointed. Very relaxed atmosphere, lovely decor, spacious seating which is rare these days, friendly staff and the Sunday roast dinner was absolutely beautiful. The starters were fab too, would have loved to have tried a desert but we were on a time limit. Price reflects the quality of food. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning. We would like to know what its like on a Saturday evening x

Helpful?
Thank Lornistevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing