We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #357 of 2,252 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Edgbaston
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had another lovely sunday lunch here, we had the 2 course option and there was a fair choice of main courses on the menu - although sadly no vegetarian option - but only a choice of 3 desserts. However the meals were plentiful and beautifully cooked with a nice selection of vegetables. The complimentary bread and dip was really nice too. Service was a little slow but they place was packed and we were in no rush so it was not really an issue. The place has a nice atmosphere and the young staff are friendly and helpful. We'll be back again soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shropshiretraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    154
    117
    66
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would recommend this place to eat”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had the two course Sunday lunch. The menu offered a good selection and the meals were very good quality. The atmosphere was very comfortable and the staff very attentive without being over bearing. Nice modern contemporary feel to the place whilst retaining a traditional old pub charm. We will definately eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndysBridgend_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not good for vegetarians!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Meat eaters will love this place, vegetarian's will not. The vegetarian dish offered to me on my most recent visit was awful, and the previous visits have also been a disappointment. My partner and his family love this restaurant, they are big meat eaters and are never disappointed with the food, but I am always left feeling very flat. One thing we all agree on however, on the numerous visits we have made here, we can never understand why the bar staff and waitressing staff always look so utterly miserable. I have heard many people comment on this. Asking them a question has sometimes met with a huff or a even a dirty look! This really needs addressing and the manners of the staff improving (and the vegetarian options of course!)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMW164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good menu. Food served well cooked. Very friendly waiting staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank colin186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern cuisine deep in old England”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I Dined at the white swan in June, very nice modern British food in an atmospheric setting. Try the salmon and caper fish cakes and the pork ribs. Not a steak eater myself but others were very complimentary . The service was not too great, pretty slow actually. But my hosts assured me it was very unusual

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing