We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce food, lively atmosphere.”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #369 of 2,210 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Edgbaston
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“NIce food, lively atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had booked online for Sunday lunch here but when we arrived they had no record of our booking (we had received a text confirmation). This was only a minor problem and within minutes we had been found a table. We all ordered various roasts and were very pleased with the quality and quantity of the food. There wasn't a huge choice of desserts on the special offer sunday lunch menu but those that were there were delicious and I would highly recommend the eton mess. As others have said the staff are young and probably students, but we found them to be smartly dressed, friendly and helpful. The place was heaving which is always a good sign and I would happily eat here again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shropshiretraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    147
    114
    65
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
WORCESTERS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely meal & evening”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We walked from the Edgbaston hotel which is aprox 1 mile away & very pleasant walk..The pub/restaurant is really quaint & stylish, lovely atmosphere and great food. It was busy so recommendable to book a table especially if you would like to sit in the restaurant. We would definately recommend this for a peaceful, romantic evening in a gorgeous atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SJABENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Group Booking went well!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had booked in advance for a party of 18 and the service was exemplary! Our food was very good and tasty (although one of the party loved the risotto and another left hers.....what can I say?) You can't please everyone! I would probably have preferred a few greens with my spit roast chicken and frites (chips actually), but that's nit picking!
The staff were fantastic and went beyond the call of duty! Paul and Ryan, you know who you are!
Many thanks, our coach driver will use you again, now he's got the route sorted!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but a bit of a wait!”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We went to the White Swan with a group of friends for Sunday lunch. Whilst waiting for the table we enjoyed a nice drink in the bar, we were them advised the table was ready. After placing our orders we waited quite a while for the food to be delivered, firstly the starter, and then what must have been about 30-35 minute wait for the main course. We did notice other tables that had been sat after us, had received their food first. The restaurant was busy when we arrived, and I do appreciate that Sundays are one of their busiest periods. The food was very nice and made up for the wait.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katewright80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We decided to eat here early on Saturday evening,but we had not booked a table.
A quick drink at the bar and we were told we could have a table just after six.
We only had two courses and a bottle of wine off the specials list which for £9 I think was excellent value.
Both my wife and I really enjoyed the food we ordered well serve and full of taste.
We commented on how good the food was and was told that they have a new chef.
If he keeps delivering food to this standard I can see this restaurant becoming very popular.A really nice surprise to what we expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryInTheU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing