We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only Chinese in Birmingham worth eating at.”
Review of Chi-Yeungs - CLOSED

Chi-Yeungs
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The only Chinese in Birmingham worth eating at.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We've lived in Birmingham for nearly 12 years now and one the frustrations has been the lack of any good quality, fairly priced Chinese restaurants.

We've tried several in 'China Town' and on Broad St and they're all either 'okay' but overpriced or just downright poor. Or in one case, good and fairly priced but the service is very poor.

Chi-Yeungs (aka Wongs aka Viet Moon) does it all well: the food is good, it's a reasonable price and the service is really very good. Attentive, discrete, friendly but not intrusive or over-familiar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CountBrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Been many times, have always had a top time, fantastic service, good value, clean, pleasant and also a pianist playing.. one of the best places I have ever visited. My only concern is on the last few occasions it has been ver quiet on a Saturday night !... PLEASE PLEASE book and show your support for a fantastic Chinese in Brum ! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Extremely good value for money! Service was fantastic ,food was nice.It was priced really good ,defiantlyn worth a 2nd visit when I'm in the city center

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rrrr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gen”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I first noticed this restaurant as we were walking through Summer Row. For us, this is one of the very best restaurants in Birmingham city Centre. The place itself is very clean. They have a Pianist to greet you at the entrance. The food was well cooked and very tasty. The staff are some of the best you'll find - offering fantastic service. It was relatively quiet when we went, but that won't put us off going again. Everyone should check this place out as soon as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natedr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Excellent delivary service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I cannot coment on the premises but a delivary meal for 4 ordered on a Saturday evening at 7.30 pm was deivered within the 45 minute estimate given, was pipeing hot and excellent value
at £55.
Also the food seemed much lighter than a conventional chinese meal and certainly less rich than a curry.
Will certainly use the Viet Moon again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi-Yeungs also viewed

Sheldon, Birmingham
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing