We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations”
Review of San Carlo

San Carlo
Ranked #154 of 2,208 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ladywood
Description: Located in Temple Street, San Carlo in Birmingham is part of the award-winning and critically acclaimed San Carlo group Italian restaurant chain. Based in the city centre within easy reach of the Birmingham's shops and financial district, San Carlo is ideal for post-shopping pick-me-ups, working lunches and intimate evening meals. The electric dining room is popular with famous local faces while the kitchen has a modern yet authentic approach to Italian cuisine. San Carlo's classic menu specialises in seafood, and popular dishes include the salmon ravioli Romanof – ravioli filled with salmon flambéed in vodka with pink peppercorns and a creamy tomato sauce; and the spiced Italian sausages cooked with Borlotti beans served with grilled polenta.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had seen mixed reviews for San Carlos but were delighted with the quality of food and great service we experienced. We went to San Carlos early evening for a pre-theatre dinner. The atmosphere was convivial and the waiters were attentive without being overly fussy. Our main meal was excellent ; the halibut was beautifully cooked with a lovely sauce as was the fillet steak. A lovely start to our evening and we certainly will visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    355
    187
    140
    140
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“High expectations”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been to San Carlo Bristol and had a fantastic dinner. Birmingham didn't disappoint. The food is great quality, decently priced and I love watching the staff. San Carlo's have a proper old fashioned hierarchy system which in my opinion gives really slick service. Looking forward to visiting the other restaurants in the group

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank loopylou712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“San Carlo is an experience not fast food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Dining out should be an experience. If you are looking to be fed quickly then San Carlos is not the place for you.

The food is beautiful and that's reflected in the full restaurant. The staff are very busy and they will serve you in good time.

Order your food select your wine and relax. The wait is worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Bram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - great service!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Needed a break from hotel food, so went here on the recommendation of a colleague. Checked out reviews on here which all sounded promising. Phoned and booked a table for 5 an hour before we went.
Such an extensive menu, plus a specials menu, it took us quite a while to choose! Waiter/ waitress service was very efficient and polite. We all had something different - veal, pizza, pasta and no-one was disappointed. We had a starter each, plus wine or beer and a main course, and split the bill between 5, coming in at just under £30 each. The waiter was happy to give us each a receipt for our share, making claiming expenses back much easier.
Lovely restaurant with a lovely atmosphere serving lovely food at a lovely price!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharondp153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming and rushed”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to San Carlos on a Sunday evening for his 25th Birthday and found the service to be very rushed. I had read reviews prior to going but decided to go with an open mind and make my own judgement. The seating layout was very intimidating. We were sat against a wall with our seats looking out towards the restaurant (not very romantic). The waiters barely smiled once and we had someone different tending to us all the time. The food was nice but not worth the money. The 'image' of the restaurant is luxurious and expensive however, the quality of service shouldn't be compromised because of this. Even when I chose a bottle of wine the waiter seemed less than impressed by shrugging. I also chose a beef starter requesting it to be medium to well and the waiter pointed out it comes cold leaving me feeling very embarrased. When you pay noone comes to collect it or say thank you, you see yourself out. At one point my boyfriend picked up our wine bottle to refill our glasses and an unhappy waiter came over and snatched it from his hands to pour the wine, we wouldn't have minded but a smile would have been nice.. and besides if that's how they're managed, then our glasses shouldn't have been empty in the first place! There are many restaurants in Birmingham of the same price range and the service is impeccable and friendly. You should feel looked after and spoiled when you're paying higher than average for a meal but you simply feel like an inconvenience. Eat, pay and leave. The toilets are also poor quality and need some repairs, and the decor is dated in my opinion. Very disappointing.
On a positive note its only 5 minutes from Snowhil train station so you're able to have a drink or two.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing