We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Suprise”
other travelers have booked this property
Internal shot of living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Internal shot of living area
Living area and table tennis table Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Internal shot of living area
Living area and table tennis table
Exterior
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
June flowers outside The Pig Barn
Bedroom.  The two single beds can be pushed together if required.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Birmingham, West Midlands, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JAYNA_L12...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Suprise”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I booked The Pig Barn as a present for my boyfriend.

I had already had some communication with the owner who had advised he was also going away on holiday and there would be some house sitters available to assist if necessary.

On arrival the property smelt clean and was warm due to the underfloor heating already switched on. The barn was very spacious and airy, it was free flowing.

The bathroom was spacious and bright. The kitchen was also easy to use and the owner had left complimentary wholemeal bread, butter and milk provided by the owner. The counter top oven appliance was suprisingly very good! We could not find a spatula and had to make to with other utensils.

The lounge area sofas were comfy and the scenery looking out was very idilic. The vinyl record, player and the table tennis were a real plus point as we're the skylights a really nice touch!

The bedroom was acceptable, we had asked for the two single beds to be pushed together and I brought along my own mattress topper, we had a very comfy sleep! The furniture across the whole barn was lovely to admire as they looked as of the had been refurbished.

I have a few points to make in regards to minor issues that arose; the lack of washing machine meant we were unable to wash our clothing but there is definately room for one by the kitchen if the owners were to put one in.

The main waste bins were unfortunately not visible after we had used them on one occasion and so we didn't know where to dispose of it after the kitchen bin was full. Something that maybe helpful is a little information pack to let visitors know about local area and easy guides to appliances and maybe a mini map of where to take your waste.

Overall a fantastic place to stay and relax, I've taken some pictures as I do not think the pictures that are currently available show a true representation of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Lack of washing machine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rookie558...
1 review
“Lovely rural retreat”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here with our 2 year old and 2 dogs. We loved every minute. Very peaceful, lots of nice walks and very relaxing. We would definitely return and highly recommend it here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Brilliant”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We rented the Pigs Barn during a house move and have absolutely nothing bad to say. The property is more spacious than it looks in the pictures, perfectly clean and very comfortable. A perfect combination of great transport links, picturesque location and blissful tranquility make this a brilliant place to stay for anything from work to a relaxing holiday. The vinyl collection is a real treasure, full of some of the best music ever made IMHO.

The owners went out of their way to make sure we got settled in (including a dash of very, very much appreciated whisky) and made the stressful process of relocating an awful lot less stressful than it could have been. We can't recommend this place enough.

If your phone is on Three, i'd advise a cheap orange pay and go if you want to make calls. The signal is (as expected for them in rural areas) non-existent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaz30122
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for an out of town place to chill in this is a little piece of heaven. On arrival we were greeted warmly and giving a tour of the accommodation. There was also milk, coffee, tea, bread and butter, so had we not brought anything or arrived late at least we would have been able to make breakfast.

Not too far off the main road the converted barn stands within the grounds of the gorgeous main house & has plenty of parking. The surrounding countryside is beautiful for walking in especially if you have dogs. (Which are allowed upon contacting the owner)

The barn conversion is all on one level and is much larger than it looks in the pictures. A large bedroom with 2 single beds, double wardrobe and dressing table. Comfortable bathroom with shower cubicle, towels provided. The kitchen has the most enormous farmhouse table and the usual self catering facilities. The lounge area has two comfy couches with decorative lighting adding a touch of ambience/romance to either watch television or listen to music on hi fi system provided. At the end of the lounge area is a full size table tennis which is great fun even for dogs chasing the ping pong balls.

Wi-Fi is provided but to be honest as we work very hard during the week we are glad to get away from mobile phones, e-mails & just relax & chill out.

The property has underfloor heating throughout. It had been put on for our arrival and was lovely and toasty. This proved more than adequate during our stay even when it was cold, in fact I had to keep turning it off.

With old world character exposed beams & idyllic surroundings this is one of the best rural locations that we have stayed in while still being only a few miles from the major city's such as Birmingham, Coventry and the NEC.

So if you're looking for a great location for either walking or relaxing, a fantastic place to stay in with quality, character and style this is definitely the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarSally
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, immaculate accommodation and a lovely time had by all!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a weekend break to this cottage and we were blown away by the beauty and charm of the place! Set in the heart of the countryside, in the grounds of a stunning manor house, the Pig Barn felt like a little piece of paradise!

We travelled with our little dog, who was made very welcome, and had a lovely time sniffing out all the old barns and exploring the grounds. The cottage itself was extremely comfortable and cosy, the bathroom and kitchen were obviously recently fitted and as such, were immaculate.

LOVED the beams, the bare stone walls and the olde worlde charm of the cottage. It had the perfect blend of rustic character, merged with modern comfort and open space. The vaulted ceilings throughout were just fabulous!

We didn't use the table tennis table as we knew the dog would just run off with the ping pong ball, but it was a nice addition to have the games area included.

The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and were even nice enough to rearrange the twin beds into a double at our request. The only tiny negative would be that had we been staying longer, we would have liked to have an oven, as there was only a microwave and hob. But saying that, we have actually just booked the cottage for a second stay next year, so the lack of oven has clearly not put us off that much! (Just more opportunity to eat out and not have to cook!)

All in all I would highly recommend this cottage, I fell in love the minute we turned down the drive! Can't wait to go back next spring!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and character of the cottage and its setting
Liked least: I loved it all! But an oven in the kitchen would be beneficial.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing