We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cinema around!”
Review of Electric Cinema

Electric Cinema
Ranked #4 of 63 Fun & Games in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best cinema around!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've visited this cinema on numerous occasions (new releases and retro classics!) and I love it here! Yes, there's a bit of a musty, ageing smell about the place but it's all part of the charm. I always book and soda and always send a text message or a drink - such a great experience! I also love the snacks - no popcorn in sight! I always have the pretzels and have been known to consume dish after dish of chorizo! The best time to visit is a late afternoon, early evening matinée when it's a cold, wintery day. You can take off your scarf, coat and shoes and snuggle up to watch a great film. i like to order hot chocolate which is served in a proper mug! We normally go for food afterwards and discuss the movie we've just watched! If you love films then you'll love this place. It must be a great first date venue! Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    155
    22
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The screening room had an odour about it, cant put my finger on it but wasnt very pleasant, may have been the plastic sofas sweating. It was a good experience, the service was good and quite an intimate setting, 6pm showing, not at all busy. Nice G and T's and good company. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cosy and old fashioned”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I loved the settees and the whole comfort thing of watching a film with a bottle of wine or you could choose tea /coffee and cake according to your personal preference....also the films are usually ones not on general release or have been out for a while...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolLyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, lovely history to the cinema, I loved the sofas
Easily my favourite cinema in England

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No popcorn - yippee”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked a sofa to see The Bling Ring. It was so nice NOT to be in a multiplex with all the cola & popcorn. The sofa was comfortable, the people were nice and it was a bit of fun to text for drinks to be delivered to your sofa.
On the downside, the carpet in front of Gable needed either a good clean/ replacement and the ONE toilet facility needed a jolly good scrub all round. Tickets were slightly on the expensive side. for mid week - should be £10 max.
If the owners can smarten the place up a bit, I think they are on to a winner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Cinema also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Electric Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing