We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not reccomend this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although the staff were friendly and helpful this hotel fell far short of what you would expect of the Holiday Inn Express. Our main gripes were;Lack of bath towels. We had to twice ask for a second towel. (Only stayed 2 nights); Our room overlooked the recycing bins (which was the most attractive view in the area) and bar staff continued to empty bottles until late at night and early in the morning. We were told that the staff were told about this; The fire alarm also went off very late at night.(Apparently this is a problem caused when guests leave the shower door open)
The lift was out of order when we arrived. We were only on the first floor and it was not a problem for us.
Breakfast service was good and room clean and a good size. We didn't use the bar or have an evening meal. There needs to be more local information provided in the rooms as well as a menu and bar tarriff.

Room Tip: Make sure your not near the recycling bins and if higher than the 1st floor that the lift is working...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Gordon T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give utmost importance to our guests' comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I am truly sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. I apologize for the shortcomings in you room and regret the dissatisfaction this aspect has caused you.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 470 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Large room with tea coffee making facilities as normal. Glad they had an iron in the room, rather than some hotel where they have a shared ironing room. Very clean and tidy room, with large desk but very pricey bar. Thanks Guys

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 917DavidP917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week recently and have to commend the staff at the Holiday Inn Express. They were very attentive and friendly. They were even able to arrange a late checkout for me on our last day at relatively short notice.
Our room had a great walk in shower in a very clean bathroom. The room was a good size with a decent desk for working on. Internet was also good, apart from the minor niggle of keep having to accept the terms and conditions for free use a couple of times each day. The room also had air conditioning which was especially useful during the hot days.
The bar prices were however very pricey. Between £6.25 and £6.50 for a large glass of wine is a bit excessive!
Sadly though there aren't any bars within walking distance and the restaurants over the road at Star City leave a lot to be desired for service and food quality.
As has been mentioned in other reviews it is a bit of a pain to locate. Whichever way we approached the hotel we had to drive past it, turn around at the roundabout and then drive back down the other side of the dual carriageway. The slip road into the hotel is not sign posted until you have entered it and is even then hidden by trees making it easy to miss if you are not watching out for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

At first glance this hotel appeared to be just fine.

The entrance is on a main road but hard to find, due to the road structure.

Checking in was ok, although the woman on the desk was so busy flirting with a regular customer that her focus was on him. The lift was out of order. No questions as to whether I could carry a bag up the stairs.

The room appeared nice enough, large, with a big shower, settee and a large double bed........ but wait ........

I settle down, tired, to watch some TV and drop off ..... been quite poorly and need to catch some z's, but it appears that there is an elephant in the room above me. How many times do you actually walk up and down your hotel room .... walk????? sorry stomp .... I figure, maybe it's someone getting ready to go out,

That wonderfully large double bed is in fact 2 singles pushed together, with a ridge down the middle where the mattresses join.

I drop off after about 2 hours, by turning up the TV to drown out the elephant. Only to be shaken awake by a fire alarm. which stopped after about 40 seconds, but, by jingo, now I'm awake, and so is the damned elephant.

Can't get back to sleep so decide to watch some TV... with only about 8 channels, 2 of which are childrens channels I can't find anything. and clearly the elephant doesn't watch TV either.

So, here I sit, waiting to see if I can get back to sleep.

Not good so far.

Room Tip: just ... don't. If you can help it go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Celticfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Celticfemale,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are truly sorry for the level of noise created by some of the other guests at the hotel and for any inconvenience caused you. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect having paid a bargain price of £40. The room was very large, clean and obviously recently updated. Perfect for a one night stay. Would stay again if in the area.
It would be a good idea if the hotel website gave better directions as to how to access the car park.
The staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aurielsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The entrance to the hotel is easy to miss which requires a couple more roundabouts to rectify. There was adequate parking but pay attention not to park under trees that weep overnight. Excellent friendly efficient service, comfortable quiet rooms. Room was well equipped though the TV and its picture quality could have been better. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but did the job.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank po_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights so that we could attend a wedding and do some sightseeing. We noticed on arrival in our room that only the two standard lamps in the room itself worked and one of the lights in the bathroom flashed on and off all the time, we mentioned this at Reception but were told they didn't have another room which fitted our requirements.
We were finally offered another room when we were in the midst of getting ready to go to the wedding, it became obvious that there had been issues with the electrics for sometime but obviously they were still been allocated to guests regardless of the issues! The air con too was really ineffective.
We had a meal in the restaurant due to our late arrival and were treated to a really tasteless beef burger, this was all a real shame as the staff were really friendly.

Room Tip: Insist on a new room on arrival if everything isn't satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sysolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Cookie081,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the the electricity, air conditioning and the breakfast experience. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $68 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing