We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing as a hotel it would suit B&B standards more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Have stayed here 3 weeks already just starting the 4th week. Joined the premier reward scheme and already dissapointed witht the service that i have recieved.On check out we were confirmed a ground floor room for this week as the lift has been broken several times on previous weeks to arive today to be told that Brian has moved you to level 3. this is week 4 statrting and have yet to have 1) an unbroken bed & 2) to remake the bed when you pull the duvet out as it pulls the sheets clean away from being tucked in. certain reception staff are verry helpfull especilly the cute blonde that works weekends and sophie. Limited menu for evening food especilly if you are here for some length of time and very limited bar options..... Disapointing as a hotel it would suit B&B standards more.

Room Tip: NO swiming pool or Gym nearest Gym is virgin active Star City that charge a full months membership a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear kenny n,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 464 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went to this hotel this weekend and the experience was OKAY.
Went to the hotel and the first impressions were really good we had 3 rooms, which were really nice and very spacious. Bathrooms are very nice and spacious and clean.
We went to the bar and they had no Bacardi which was not very impressive as that's all my mum wanted. But that was okay.
When we came back to the hotel at 12 the gates were closed bit you have to open them with a pin. When we got in the receptionist was rude and we founs that opening the room doors were hard and do take a bit of timw to open. When we went to ask them how to open the doors the guy started swearing in french, and was extremely rude to us.
Breakfast was okay had some really good food. But the coffee and tea was not very good.
But I know my review sounds bad but the hotel has a lot of potential with the rooms being so nice. Only if they sort out the food they serve and also give some staff customer service training ( morning staff were very polite and nice) it would be a hotel I would definitely recommend this to other people.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jteezy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Jteezy101,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we
are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here a few times as I struggled to get a reasonable priced hotel in the area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are ok, but don't expect anything special. TV was small and dated. Bathroom is spacious and has everything you need.
Breakfast was good, fair choice, nothing cooked to order, but great if you want to get in and get out before you go to work.
Star city across the road is walkable if you want evening food and entertainment.
I was there when Smurfit had a fire and all the roads were closed off. Found it quite difficult to get back to the hotel as there is only the one entrance off the dual carriageway.
Due to its location from my work area it would probably be low down on my list if I were to return.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bikerboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Bikerboy40,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here when it was Hampton by Hilton, apparently bought by holiday inn in oct 12. Same staff, pleasant welcome and they clearly have regular business custom. Clean, decent shower, big room, free wifi, £59, can't grumble really can you ?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitesh_Jansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear 007Jansari,

Thanks for your business and your review. Also thanks for pointing out the convenience of our hotel for business travelers.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the amenities and services we have. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in the area and it makes us happy to read that we somehow lived up to your expectations.

Once again, thank you for the kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Positives: Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Rooms decent, free parking, free wifi (that worked very well).

Negatives: The food. Menu is very basic, first two things ordered were unavailable, veg curry came, and it was clearly a frozen meal that had been microwaved, as it was piping hot in parts, and still actually frozen in others (for about a tenner - unacceptable), and then the "hot" breakfast items were shockingly bad, and all the pastries and brown bread were missing (as were spoons and forks for a good while).

I paid £80 for the night, and would expect, and have received better, elsewhere. I'm aware there are fast food options available locally, but after a very long day, and an early start, it would be nice not to have to go out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Moonchester,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when it was Hampton by Hilton, apparently bought by holiday inn in oct 12. Same staff, pleasant welcome and they clearly have regular business custom. Clean, decent shower, big room, free wifi, £59, can't grumble really can you ?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

For not a lot extra you can stay in a 'proper' hotel with proper hotel rooms and friendly staff, HIE Star City is well placed when visiting Birmingham, handy for the city centre and not far from major motorways. Star City and The Fort are close by for leisure and shopping needs. All staff EXTREMELY welcoming and helpful. Free secure parking and free breakfast add value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagashHeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,239 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $66 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing