We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a business trip.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #77 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Teesside
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ok for a business trip.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here a few times as I struggled to get a reasonable priced hotel in the area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are ok, but don't expect anything special. TV was small and dated. Bathroom is spacious and has everything you need.
Breakfast was good, fair choice, nothing cooked to order, but great if you want to get in and get out before you go to work.
Star city across the road is walkable if you want evening food and entertainment.
I was there when Smurfit had a fire and all the roads were closed off. Found it quite difficult to get back to the hotel as there is only the one entrance off the dual carriageway.
Due to its location from my work area it would probably be low down on my list if I were to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bikerboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Bikerboy40,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    161
    81
    40
    27
See reviews for
68
125
24
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here when it was Hampton by Hilton, apparently bought by holiday inn in oct 12. Same staff, pleasant welcome and they clearly have regular business custom. Clean, decent shower, big room, free wifi, £59, can't grumble really can you ?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh_Jansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 007Jansari,

Thanks for your business and your review. Also thanks for pointing out the convenience of our hotel for business travelers.

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the amenities and services we have. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in the area and it makes us happy to read that we somehow lived up to your expectations.

Once again, thank you for the kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Positives: Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Rooms decent, free parking, free wifi (that worked very well).

Negatives: The food. Menu is very basic, first two things ordered were unavailable, veg curry came, and it was clearly a frozen meal that had been microwaved, as it was piping hot in parts, and still actually frozen in others (for about a tenner - unacceptable), and then the "hot" breakfast items were shockingly bad, and all the pastries and brown bread were missing (as were spoons and forks for a good while).

I paid £80 for the night, and would expect, and have received better, elsewhere. I'm aware there are fast food options available locally, but after a very long day, and an early start, it would be nice not to have to go out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Moonchester,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when it was Hampton by Hilton, apparently bought by holiday inn in oct 12. Same staff, pleasant welcome and they clearly have regular business custom. Clean, decent shower, big room, free wifi, £59, can't grumble really can you ?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

For not a lot extra you can stay in a 'proper' hotel with proper hotel rooms and friendly staff, HIE Star City is well placed when visiting Birmingham, handy for the city centre and not far from major motorways. Star City and The Fort are close by for leisure and shopping needs. All staff EXTREMELY welcoming and helpful. Free secure parking and free breakfast add value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagashHeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what it should be. Nice room, clean shower with good pressure. Within walking distance of Star city. Star city has a movie theatre with many current/new movies, the restaurants range from mcDonalds,subway, and KFC to a tepanakki grill. There is also something called a genting club which appeared to be a casino. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet style cereal, scrambled eggs, toast, sausage (no bacon) and beans. Good enough for the cost of the hotel. All in all a great value for budget conscious. Didn't give it a five stars because I think it takes extra specialty make 5 stars

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed from fri to mon morn,had tickets for an event at the lg arena,but made a weekend of it.
room was large,clean and comfortable.shower was massive,always hot water,bonus of shampoo,conditioner,and shower gel within,handwash and handcream next to wash basin.
breakfast was more than adequte.various coffees avaliable from machine,large selection of teas,fruit,yoghurt,toast,croissent,pain au choc,cereals,sausage,beans,scrambled eggs,rolls,fruit juice and only had to ask for anything to be replenished,
all the staff were polite and helpfull,particularily sam at breakfast,
close to city center,stones throw from star city,close to motorway for access to wherever,and free parking and wi fi

Room Tip: all 3 rooms our family group used were excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trusty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing