We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for m6, clean, friendly, good value, 2nd time I've stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #87 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when it was Hampton by Hilton, apparently bought by holiday inn in oct 12. Same staff, pleasant welcome and they clearly have regular business custom. Clean, decent shower, big room, free wifi, £59, can't grumble really can you ?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

For not a lot extra you can stay in a 'proper' hotel with proper hotel rooms and friendly staff, HIE Star City is well placed when visiting Birmingham, handy for the city centre and not far from major motorways. Star City and The Fort are close by for leisure and shopping needs. All staff EXTREMELY welcoming and helpful. Free secure parking and free breakfast add value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRS99R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is exactly what it should be. Nice room, clean shower with good pressure. Within walking distance of Star city. Star city has a movie theatre with many current/new movies, the restaurants range from mcDonalds,subway, and KFC to a tepanakki grill. There is also something called a genting club which appeared to be a casino. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet style cereal, scrambled eggs, toast, sausage (no bacon) and beans. Good enough for the cost of the hotel. All in all a great value for budget conscious. Didn't give it a five stars because I think it takes extra specialty make 5 stars

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed from fri to mon morn,had tickets for an event at the lg arena,but made a weekend of it.
room was large,clean and comfortable.shower was massive,always hot water,bonus of shampoo,conditioner,and shower gel within,handwash and handcream next to wash basin.
breakfast was more than adequte.various coffees avaliable from machine,large selection of teas,fruit,yoghurt,toast,croissent,pain au choc,cereals,sausage,beans,scrambled eggs,rolls,fruit juice and only had to ask for anything to be replenished,
all the staff were polite and helpfull,particularily sam at breakfast,
close to city center,stones throw from star city,close to motorway for access to wherever,and free parking and wi fi

Room Tip: all 3 rooms our family group used were excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trusty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is set near a busy main road so the road noise may be an issue for some. It is however a 2 minute walk to Star City attractions. On the positive side, the reception staff were really helpful (even offering to loan us their own personal phone charger!) Wi-Fi is free for the duration of your stay - without additional charges after the first 30 minutes. Also they offer a complimentary service if you forget toothbrush, shaving crème etc... Breakfast wasn't bad. It's a buffet style which would benefit from more attentive staffing and a quicker refresh of the items offered.
There is no bath in the rooms which was a bit of an issue for my partner but the shower does have a ledge to sit on for leg shaving etc... My main issue was the bed. It seemed to dip into the middle, so sleeping to one side was like trying to sleep uphill for the night, tis led to a broken night's sleep. Also the chair in our room broke (the wheel shattered off) and we were told that they will be getting new chairs for the rooms because the ones they have are cheap!
However all-in-all you are unlikely to get the same bed I did (Room 125) so if you are looking for a decent place to stay/base yourself at a competitive price, consider this hotel as a good contender.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the duel carriageway (especially room 125)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Alex C,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you really need to be near Star City, and if you don't mind the total lack of character and the poor excuse for a breakfast, then this place will do. Rooms: OK, bed: OK, service: could do with a more customer-centric approach, value for money: hmmm - I've paid less for much better (see deVere Village hotels or Bewley's, for example).

Breakfast - really was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJFSwanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear KJFSwanley,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night when it was still Hampton by Hilton. Do not be put off by the location. The room was clean with a large and very comfortable bed and wi-fi in the room. Staff helpful and pleasant. Plenty of free parking and easy access to the motorway. Some chain restaurant nearby. Continental breakfast was included in the price. In summary it was a bargain!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $68 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing