We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Ranked #85 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had a family room for one night with two teenagers, 13 and 17. The room was large, light and airy. The beds were large and very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was brilliant - kids loved the shower unit.

Great location for city centre and star city. Hotel breakfast was good and staff were excellent.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylannw1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 464 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

For a budget priced hotel this was spot on. We stayed here for Crufts weekend.
Great room- clean too. Free parking. Bar and food available. Quiet but with plenty to do over the road in Star City. Dogs allowed for free. Defo stay again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

When staying at this hotel you will need transport as its in the middle of nowhere. The customer service of alot of the staff needs improving, one member of staff on the Sunday was really quite rude when i asked for some white bread that wasn't frozen. Rooms are nice and well maintained although 2 of the bulbs in my room were out. Do not stay at this hotel if its Crufts week as the hotel was over run with dogs, not nice when eating your breakfast. Also i spent most of the night awake with dogs either barking or running about in rooms making it sound like a zoo. Food did leave alot to be desired, breakfast limited although if staying for one night then probably ok. I did order a meal to eat one evening, for £9.00 i got a frozen southern fried chicken breast, oven over cooked chips and that was about it, probably the worst oven cooked food i have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

excellent clean comfortable accomodation with friendly, helpful staff. buffet breakfast was excellent wide variety of food and drinks to suit all we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Arrived at the hotel and was checked in within moments. Very friendly service at the front desk, couldn't do enough to help.
Rooms are very spacious, with a generous bathroom. Clean and bright.

This isn't a luxury hotel but was just great value for £45 a night. This is the first time I have stayed at a Hampton Inn, but I would definetly use them again if the location was convenient.

Of course this hotel is part of the Hilton group so you can collect Hhonors points as well.

It is the price of a premier inn / travel lodge, but a much more pleasant stay, better linen, bigger rooms, better service. Also the free WiFi was a big selling point when the competitors charge upwards of £5/hour.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We went to the Hampton for the weekend with friends. We found it to be an adequate hotel, but it did feel quite tired and basic.

Firstly the good points - check-in was simple. The location is good - a two minutes walk from Star City (although it is quite isolated in terms of shops and supermarkets). The rooms are a surprisingly big size. From our research it is one of the cheapest places to stay in Birmingham.

One major problem we had there was the fact we couldn't sleep at night - this was due to very cheap feeling, poor quality pillows - if you do go please take your own set - 2 was too high, 1 wasn't enough! . Another issue was the cleanliness of the room, my husband's dust allergy provides us with a natural detector of a clean room, and he really suffered following a night's sleep there - our room didn't get cleaned while we were there at all (the cleaner came to the room as we were about to go out, and despite being told we'd shortly be leaving, he didn't bother returning!) The kettle was half full of old water when we arrived. There was a handy iron in the room, however barely any variety in coffee and tea choices (no biscuits either - criminal!!!) We didn't realise on booking, but there were no baths in the room, just ancient showers which was really disappointing, and no robes were available on request. The bathroom contains cheap toiletries kept in dispensers (perhaps to be expected in a budget hotel, but not very nice!)

The hotel itself contains a very small bar, which did get crowded. The hotel might be budget but the drinks certainly are not - £4.75 for a small, lukewarm rose which was served in a beaker! If you have to sit in tired 3 star surroundings, with stained carpets, you expect the price to reflect that!!!

The staff there were generally friendly and helpful, although the night-time bar man was a pretty frightening character who never smiled, and in a confusing incident actually tried to stick a £30 tip on my friend's £5 bill! Never quite got to the bottom of whether that was a mistake or not!!!

Overall then, I would not return to this hotel, as it just all felt very cheap and I personally like a bit of luxury and feeling spoiled when I go away! But if you do need somewhere cheap and are determined to spend your weekend at Star City, I'm sure you could do worse!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Very quick, easy check in. Modern room larger than expected with good facilities and decent sized shower with toiletries. Very effective heating system - useful, as the room was quite cold on arrival, but remember to turn the thermostat way down before going to bed! Very comfortable bed. Excellent lighting. A little road noise at night but no other disturbances - Very quiet, all in all.

Breakfast was very good. Nice to see fresh fruit salad and yoghurt available as well as the usual toast, croissants, scrambled egg and bacon. Good selection of tea also.

Good sized car park and easy trip to Birmingham city centre. Seeing the Staffordshire Hoard at the museum was a bonus, as thought it had long gone. Have stayed in several hotels around Birmingham area and this is the favourite. Will definitely stay here again.

Minus points:
1 Wall mirror positioned far too high at dressing table as couldn't use it at all when seated! (IE, not meant for those under 5' 2"!)
2 Tissue box in bathroom was empty - a minor detail overlooked, but disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheahshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,239 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $66 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing