We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday Stay @ SACO!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Birthday Stay @ SACO!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at SACO @ Livingbase for my birthday celebrations in Birmingham recently.

We arrived at SACO mid-afternoon and were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our apartment. The apartment was LOVELY; bright, big, clean and airy. It was a lot bigger than we expected - 3 double bedrooms over 2 floors. There was everything we needed included at no extra cost - cooker, fridge, microwave, iron and every other appliance you could imagine.

Before going out in Birmingham for the evening we had more friends arrive for a couple of drinks - the apartment held 10 of us very comfortably indeed as there was an 8-seat dining table and a lovely big terrace to use. Our 'visitors' had a good nose around the apartment and were equally impressed! Once we decided to go out for the night, the staff were more than happy to arrange our taxi into the city centre.

After a night of dancing and drinking we arrived back at the apartments - the gentleman on duty was lovely (I don't think I'd have been so nice at 2am to a group of drunken women)! And you know when you get home after a night out and you just want to EAT??? Well, that was no problem as we could literally fall out of the apartment on to Birmingham's busy Broad Street and had our pick of places to eat!

The whole experience was great and myself and the others who stayed have vowed never to use a hotel if there is a SACO Apartment available...they just don't compare. The price when divided by the number of occupants is cheaper than some of the budget hotels but with a feeling of luxury!

I want to live in a SACO apartment...so much so that I have booked again for a night out in October 2012 and again for a birthday outing in November (bearing in mind I live about 12-15 miles from the apartments). I will definitely use SACO when I visit other cities too.

If you want a great experience with all the facilities you need and more, I would definitely recommend using SACO apartments to anybody. ;o)))))

Karla D.
Birmingham

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of SACO Birmingham.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at SACO and we helped to make your birthday even more memorable. We look forward to your future visits!

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    37
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
54
33
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend away and I have to say this was one of the nicest places I have stayed in! We were given a two bedroom apartment and the size of it was amazing our apartment had a good size balcony with awesome views and ipod docking station , two bathrooms etc. will certainly be recommending to all my friends thank you for such a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clementine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to SACO on your next visit to Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Loved the duplex apartment here, we rented 2 unit of duplex apartments here. Great View! The full equipment kitchen is making my mom sooooo happy! She cooks every nights when we back from shopping... We bought food from Tesco that only takes less than 10 mins walk at Broad St. The River Walk Edge only few mins walk and there have some nice restaurants and pubs around the area. The ICC Hall just across the river!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for duplex apartment once you booked the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoNey_Yong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good apartment and reception from the on site team when arriving. Nice to have a welcome pack ready when you arrive. Apartment was well furnished and finished. Will be using again for business and would recommend suitable for pleasure also as extremely well located on Brindleyplace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your future visits when next in Birmingham.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful apartments and staff were excellent, thank you for making my stay so stress free. Very easy access to birmingham centre and pubs and clubs. A handy local little supermarket below. To stock up on the bits you forgot. Beds were comfortable and heating was adjustable to make a nice comfy night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of SACO Birmingham.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Marie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have put friends up in Saco @ Livingbase many times and never received anything but a multitude of thanks and praise for offering such an inspired alternative to a Hotel. The girls who look after the place are just so brilliant, can't do enough to help out. The value is top, the accommodation is where you would easily expect a Premiership footy player to live, so fantastic and neat. The least expensive accommodation does not even compare to a hotel room, these are top quality apartments that would cost quarter of a million up if they where on the open market. I just don't know where they buy the beds from but they are not anything like I have slept on before. The apartment, whole building and the setting in the beautiful Brindleyplace must be one of the top spots in the English Midlands, just excellent.

Can't praise it enough, I want to live there ...!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best they give you such marvellous view of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeonbroadstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that both yourself and your friends liked the Apartments and I will pass on to the staff you lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 6 weeks whilst we waited for our new build house to be completed. We had spent 1 week prior at the Spires apartments near the mailbox which wasn't a patch on this.
The apartment was very modern, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed to make it home for the month and a half we spent there.
The location of this apartment meant getting around Birmingham was very convienient and eating out meant just nipping downstairs to brindley place.
The staff here are what makes it so great...everyone on reception is so friendly and welcoming, they always welcome you when you come in after a long day and check if everything is ok and ask if you need anything.
We had one slightly noisy group next door for a night but the reception staff quickly dealt with it and ensured we didnt have any groups next to us for the rest of our stay.
Considering the cost of this apartment is only what you would pay in a standard hotel it is definitely better staying here as you have plenty of space, all the amenities of an apartment and the nicest staff you could wish for!
I highly recommend this place and wouldn't hesitate to stay again should I ever need a home from home!

Room Tip: The 2 beds are the only ones with washing machines but if you ask reception they will happily let yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,447 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace

Property: SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace
Address: 3 Brunswick Square | Brindleyplace, Birmingham B1 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livingbase is home to 35 luxury serviced apartments, all of the apartments have spectacular views over the city and are decorated to the highest standard. The style of accommodation ranges from studio through to double height duplex suites. Each apartment consist of fully fitted kitchen, living/dining areas, luxurious bedrooms with separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your SACO Birmingham - Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing