We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diamond wedding anniversary”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

my parents had their diamond wedding anniversary lunch here today.. the food was served on time and of a high standard. 25 of us sat down to a 4 course lunch, of starter, main, dessert and tea or coffee. the staff were very friendly and helpful and accommodating.
Will recommend the Olde Rose and Crown to other friends and colleagues.. First class. Also. I would like to say Thank You to Andrew, with whom i have been in contact with all the details.Customer Service is excellent and all replies to queries / questions were answered promptly. We all had a lovely afternoon and compliments were abundant from our guests.

Debra Evans

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamdebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    50
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
47
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having attended a wedding at this venue on 1st September, we arranged to stay the night along with other guests at a pre agreed price. On checking out on the Sunday we were charged more that what had been agreed when making the original booking. The Manager asked me if I had this in writing, the answer being 'NO' as the hotel management did not have the courtesy to send out a letter of confirmation of the booking along with the price.

The manager was very arrogant and stubborn regarding this issue, even when he had spoken to Marie. He also made snide remarks about other guest who had yet to settle their bill, even asking if they could be trusted not to do a runner!! He then left the desk unattended.

After the wedding had finished a few guests asked if they could get a drink from the bar. The answer again ‘NO’ its closed. All other hotels we had stayed in will continue to serve if you are a resident. Drinks were overpriced.

If stopping here please get your confirmation in writing to avoid being overcharged, which should be standard practice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldroseandcrownhotel, Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are very grateful for the comments made in this review and were made aware that unless we took £5.00 off this guests accommodation bill they would be leaving an adverse review as seen above. All point raised in this review are true, but put into context are not as bad as they seem.
So to confirm the rate for a family room for up to 2 adults and 2 children is £85.00 B&B and we don't send out confirmations unless requested to do so.
We had a fantastic relationship with the wedding party and was only being ironic when suggesting to all the guests in reception should I be worried if the best man does a "runner" without paying his bill.
We have a restricted licence that prevents the sale of alcohol out of hours; we do however allow residents to purchase drinks (that are 10% cheaper than any other hotel in a 5 mile radius) that can be consumed after hours and taken up stairs where inevitably the parties continue into the early hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The best day ever and the Old Rose and Crown Hotel played a big part. The staff are fantastic, they really worked hard as a team to make for a perfect day. Right from when we arrived, a big effort was made to get our rooms ready early. Lots of guests commented on how friendly the staff were and that they felt very well cared for. The food was speedy and of a high standard. The hotel itself was ideal, nicely furbished rooms and great value for guests. The gardens looked spot on, as they do in the photo above. The whole day went swimmingly well and we'd like to thank everyone at the Old Rose and Crown. Chris & Heather 18th Aug 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I just want to say a massive thank you to all the staff at the hotel, our day was such a perfect day, that we will never forget. The House DJ was great and Marie was amazing, without her I would have been a nervous wreck. The food was fantastic and the room was really nice. We will definitely be back to see Marie and the gang sometime soon for fish and chips.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a course nearby, having booked online a week or so before on the strength of the good reviews and excellent rate for single occupancy. Entering the hotel was like going on board the Marie Celeste - it was spookily empty, then suddenly a lady appeared to book me in. Initially I was almost turned away as I was told that there was no booking for me! It took nearly 15 minutes before the lady realised that she hadn't recognised the booking because the e-mail address was not my name - even though the guest name stated on the form was mine. To top it all, instead of receiving an apoIogy, I was made to feel it was my fault!
In spite of the bad start, the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I had room 6, which overlooked the yard at the back and had an excellent night's sleep on all 3 nights, even with the window open, no doubt helped by the thick, heavy curtains. I suspect that the rooms at the front would suffer more from road noise as it is quite busy. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and the shower was very good. What impressed me was that the room was fully serviced everyday, with clean towels etc. - not just a "quick flick" round.
Breakfast was a little odd. The lady hadn't said where the breakfast room was and no one was around so I had to hunt for the right room. I had helped myself to cereal and long since finished before anyone appeared to take my order, and even then the service was polite but cold. The food was put in front of me, the girl disappeared and that was that. By morning 3, I knew the ropes and just got on with it, and it must be said that the cooked breakfast was lovely.
All in all, you can't fault the quality of this hotel and perhaps the minimal staffing levels are how it maintains its competitive prices, especially for single occupancy. However, I would have thought that most people choosing this kind of small hotel over an impersonal chain would expect/appreciate a cheery "good morning, the cereals and juices are over there, help yourself etc.".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstMateKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having lived in Longbridge for 24 years and recently moved to Lincolnshire, I wanted to come and visit friends and family. Well I couldn't have picked a more beautiful place. I am physically disabled (needed help with my cases and breakfast in my room) and the staff were so helpful and did everything to make my stay comfortable. Room 2 is indeed a beautiful room and the views are stunning across the Lickey Golf course and gardens. I will definately be using The Old Rose and Crown when ever i need a trip down memory lane. Thank you to all the staff who made my stay possible and stress free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Simply wonderful night. My mothers 70th Birthday combined with Fish and chip supper. Staff were great, food remarkable and the service was brilliant. What more can I say except try it...you'll like it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_ky_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Westmead Hotel
#46 of 117 in Birmingham
638 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
91 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#6 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,225 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
393 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: Old Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: Rose Hill | Lickey, Birmingham B45 8RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Rose and Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rose & Crown Hotel is set in 400 acres of beautiful Lickey Hills Country Park and yet only 5 minutes drive from M42 J1 and M5 J4. With free parking and free Wifi and 11 ensuite bedrooms including double twin and family rooms the hotel is perfect for any kind of acassion including weddings, christenings and parties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Old Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing