We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value night at NiteNite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nitenite Birmingham
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great value night at NiteNite”
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Very interesting idea for a city hotel and I am sure it will catch on, rooms are small but have most amenities. I would stay again, and would recommend it to anyone who needs a budget night in reasonable comfort in the centre of Brum.

It was a curious sensation sleeping in a room with no windows, neither of us had the best night's sleep but I can't really say what it was down to - the bed was comfortable and the room was warm and quiet - only possibility that no natural light made us restless.

We found the 42" plasma screen a bit OTT, (Top Gear was massive) but the general room layout was practical, in spite of being tiny (but that is the whole point, really). The wet room bathroom was good, electronics (lights and AC) good and well thought out, wi-fi didn't seem to work though.

Breakfast was included for two in our room rate (extremely reasonable £39.99 Sunday night rate) - a bacon or sausage sandwich and a cup of coffee was a good enough start to the day, but don't expect full English, it really is more continental but there is a pretty good choice.

Great idea, let's hope it stays as neat, clean and today as it is right now.
.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — no Parking available
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank julesjenpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    394
    203
    85
    68
See reviews for
30
394
186
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed at NiteNite for one night on Saturday 10th Nov. We had no wait at all at reception and were given our key card immediately. The staff were very helpful and provided me with a hairdryer, towel and even a map on request.
The room was hilariously small and made me think of a cabin on a ship. However, the room had everything you needed (double bed, table & mirror, stool, kettle and a large TV.) The power panel was also an added gadget.
It was strange not having a window - more so in the morning as you had no idea what time it was! The bed was comfortable and the wet room was excellent. Everything was very clean and smart, just tiny in proportion!
The proximity of the bathroom and the glass door meant that if you weren't a close couple before the stay, you certainly were afterwards...!
The only downside to this hotel was the interrupted sleep due to the very thin walls onto the corridor. I think I got woken up at least 4 times, either by drunken revellers on their way home or early risers heading for breakfast. ( This isn't included by the way, and is not the best buffet I have ever seen.)
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you were only staying for one night, however I believe a longer stay might get a bit cramped.
May I also recommend Brindley Place for evening drinks and dinner - a lovely area next to the canal.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Decor, Wet Room
  • Disliked — Noise from the corridor.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JossWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stopped at this hotel for 1 night while attending a friend's wedding reception in the city centre. We found the location really good, 15 min walk to the shops and 2 mins walk to broad street bars. Nice walk along the canal to the NIA. Free parking outside the hotel from 6pm saturday and all day sunday too - saved us a fortune!

As others have said you are aware the rooms are small but you don't realise how small until you open the door! However we thought this hotel concept was brilliant. All you need for overnight stay is a bed and a bathroom, the wet room worked much better than other wet rooms as the water drained away very well.

The bed was comfy and the tv really good, it was interesting watching the view from the roof!

I thought the panel used for the lighting and heating was really good. We are a couple and didn't find space too much of a problem.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, we walked to wetherspoons/lloyds on broad street as it was cheaper!

Would recommend this hotel and didn't find it claustrophic, only thing we didn't think of - there are no windows and of course the room doesn't get light in the morning! (we hadn't thought of this!) Just remember to set the wake up on the tv cos its so dark in the room you'll think it's the middle of the night!

I would definitely use this hotel again, however would only use it for 1 or 2 nights, I think if you were stopping longer and had more luggage space may become a problem!

  • Liked — It was modern and clean
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

High tech and hip style in a great location.. a very short walk from New Street Station, right next to the great shopping/restaurants of the Mailbox. I loved the room, certainly didn't feel claustrophobic after a Raspberry Bellini or two! Only down-side was the corridor noise in the morning as the road-warrior business travellers set off happily whistling to their conferences, forgetting that that not everyone is up at seven! Have booked again already. Try nitenite, in my opinion it beats everything else in Birmingham on price and style.

  • Liked — Funky cafe, entertaining corporate approach!
  • Disliked — heavy footed exodus in the am.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krabikrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Great concept. Tiny rooms but very well laid out and modern. Great if you just need a place to sleep. No window but large plasma TV gives you a view of outside if you wish. Good location and value for money too.

  • Liked — Loaction and convenience
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Londonswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Checking In was good (Receptionist explained how the card system works for your room & a 'help' card was also given to me)

Location of the Hotel is excellent
(New Street Station is a 5 minute Walk away)

Although no Breakfast / Eating facilities in the hotel (Apart from vening machines) - The hotel is just opposite a lot of eating places by the canal side.

Rooms although 'very small' are adequate for a 'short overnight' stay for 2. (Providing you have not too many suitcases!)

Shower / Wet Room works well.

42" Plasma TV is Good.

Personal Air-conditioning worked very well.

  • Liked — Clean & Convienent Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Catering Facilities within the Hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KrispyKremeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

After deciding that paying a fortune for a lovely room which we spend no time in was not value for money, we decided to give Nitenite a try - especially at a rate of £55 per night.

The rooms are more like ships cabins and are small but it did not feel as claustrophobic as I thought it would. The wetroom door is by far the worst thing about the room - obscure glass and a door that does not close completely mean that you get very familiar with your fellow occupants toilet habits!

The bed is very comfy but again not really ideal for access if there are two of you (midnight gymnastics to get to the loo). However, the room was very clean, TV reception good and general ambience of the hotel was good. There are vending machines to cope with the Midnight Munchies attack.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful although the chambermaids did not speak English so you need to ask reception for further pillows and towels.

Location of the hotel is good for both shopping and for visiting the main event venues (Symphony Hall, Rep theatre) - area felt safe at night too.

Tips - don't do the breakfast in the Swiss cafe/deli - it's bad. £5.95 for a meagre hot/cold buffet which consisted of sausages and bacon and a small selection of cereals, yoghurts,croissants etc. and one cup of coffee. Head into the city for a better deal.

Parking - I was quite annoyed as I rang the hotel asking where the best place was to park and they advised that the Mailbox was the best option. They did inform that there is free on-street parking virtually outside the hotel all day Sunday and from 6pm - 8am every other day but this was not convenient for us (but could save business visitors some ££). The Mailbox car park is £17 a day - a cheaper option is the car park in Brunel Street at £10.80 and this is no further away from the hotel (carry on round the road from the Mailbox and it's on the left). Unsurprisingly I moved the car after one day to the cheaper option.

I would stay in a Nitenite hotel again and think that it's ideal if you just want a bed to crash into at the end of the day and you're on your own.

  • Liked — Value for money for the room itself
  • Disliked — Wetroom door and poor breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JojoJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitenite Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitenite Birmingham

Property: Nitenite Birmingham
Address: Centenary Plaza 18 Holliday Street | Centenary Plaza, Birmingham B1 1TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nitenite Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nitenite Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nitenite Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Nitenite Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Nitenite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing