We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal pit stop for the O2 in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal pit stop for the O2 in Birmingham”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just had a one night stay in the Ibis. We booked it for the Suede gig at the 02. The hotel is really close to the venue and to the main shopping area.
For your pennies you get a small en suite room that is very basic (no tea/coffee or hairdryer) but clean and functional. For a big hotel we found it very quiet and as a result managed to get a really good nights sleep.
The hotel reception area is going through an update so it was looking a little rough - but you don't spend any time there and there was little noise from the work.
The breakfast was extra (£4.95) again this was very basic and there was no hot option - just lots of bread, cake, cereal and yogurt.
If you are looking for luxury then this hotel is not for you. If you are looking for a cheep hotel just to get your head down for a night that is centrally located then you really cant go wrong with this hotel.
Would we stay here again - yes.

Room Tip: We stayed in 116 that over looked the car park so it was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBst_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    747
    433
    185
    172
See reviews for
233
498
290
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great location and price, the rooms are comfy and the shower is good. Have stayed here twice now.

It can be a very noisy hotel as people use it for clubbing trips (but wasn't a problem as that was our reason for booking).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis budget, Birmingham Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed at this Ibis twice - first for three nights in a double room on the third floor, then one additional night about a week later in a twin room on the ground floor. Based on the first stay, I would have recommended the hotel as very basic but great value for money, and would have (obviously) returned quite happily.

For the first stay - the room was amply sized, Clean, reasonably comfortable, and quiet. The bed was unremarkable, which is a good way for beds to be. The free wifi was too slow for VoIP or uploading much of anything, but the paid wifi was fast and cheap (I think it was just £2 for 24 hours). The only real issue was that one of the two lifts was broken the entire time I was there, and the other was monopolised by the cleaning people for most of the morning each day. Coming down, it was possible to use the stairs - but on the way up the stairwell was locked and not accessible with ordinary room keys; we had to keep getting someone from reception to let us in. Still - it was CHEAP, and convenient for the centre (15 minute walk, maybe 5 minutes by car or bus).

The second stay, though - that was something else. The room was on the ground floor, which was OK except that the security guard stood directly outside and talked into his mobile for hours. The floor was half hard lino, half cheap 'wood' laminate. A suspiciously filthy rag was left lounging against the sink, which - yes, IS in the main room. OK, OK - I know it was cheap. I'm flexible.

BUT THEN -- the bed!!!!!! Now THIS was an instrument straight from a medieval torture chamber. I don't know how a bed can be LESS comfortable than the floor, but this one managed it admirably. It was like a ping-pong table with a plywood divider running down the middle, topped with two very flimsy twin ... well, really, cushions more than mattresses. My back STILL twinges just thinking about it, although it's been over a month.

I'm not sure if the vast difference between the two rooms was because on the second stay I booked a twin room rather than a double (doubles were booked full) - but since they are normally the same price, it seems odd there would be such a huge difference. In any case - I would never ever stay at this Ibis again unless I knew absolutely for sure I would NOT get Room 10 again - or anything similar.

Oh, and also - there are no phones in the rooms, which isn't maybe an issue until you ask reception to look into the fact that the internet is down and they tell you to call the tech helpline - and it's a toll call from a mobile. To be fair, the tech help WAS very helpful.

Room Tip: I would avoid the twin rooms and the ground floor, just to be safe(r).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter, I do recall personally speaking to you on arrival and departure, however, I'd be very keen to discuss this further with you, please contact me on h5678-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when me and my boyfriend celebrated our engagement in Birmingham earlier this year, from the photos I thought it was pretty decent and a steal at the cost we paid.... However the rooms were not like hotel rooms at all, not even student standard, the floors were hard and the shower was in the room so it was difficult to get any privacy. The toilets were a squeeze, however we only used the rooms for a place to sleep so it wasn't that bad.

Be warned they only allow certain amount of people into the rooms on returning after hours, so as my sister in law came back with us to pick up her stuff (she had met us there earlier To get changed but wasn't staying at the hotel) she wasn't allowed up.

My fiends who were sharing a room weren't allowed up as someone had taken a male friend up so they had to wait til he came down!!!

If there was going to be a system in place such as this maybe wrist bands or names should be taken?

It is a party hotel, loud music and drunken people making noise at all hours.... Won't stay there again but it served its purpose for the night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aimoi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night to see gig at O2 Academy which is two minute walk.
Room was clean and as expected.
Quite a few same sex groups of lads and girls were staying and evidently going clubbing so there was potetntial for late night noise and shenanigans but hotels seemed to have plenty of staff and security to nip any problems in the bud. That may not be everyones experience but certainly was mine.
Didn't arrive until about 8pm and bagged very last spot in car park, which suggests it isn't big enough or accepts short term parkers.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if need to be in Birmingham.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,070 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
1,180 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
223 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing