We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my boyfriend wanted to get away for a night, so we decided to come here.. Only paid -£34.00 and is so really good for the price, spotless and clean and very friendly staff! This hotel is a great location to the main city centre, me and my boyfriend went out for a lovely meal and few drinks and if you felt hungry later on you could get food from downstairs which was open 24 hours. I would defiantly advice anyone to come here and I would most certainly be going back, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    735
    425
    184
    169
See reviews for
225
489
288
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wanted a cheap and cheerful hotel to stay in two nights to go to the T20 finals day within walking distance of Edgbaston cricket ground and Birming city centre. All we wanted was a bed with shower and toilet and thats exactly what we got. Staff were very helpful - my husband needed an extra pillow as he had just had neck surgery and a member of staff came up to the linen room on our floor in case he discovered he needed any more. I suffer with back problems and we both found bed very comfortable. You can get tea , coffee and hot chocolate for £1.40 downstairs but staff were happy to give free tokens so you could get hot water if you had your own or needed it for baby milk. Will definitely be recommending to friends who visit Birmingham and using same chain when visit other cities around UK

Room Tip: If you have a room for 3 one of you will be in a bunk bed above a double . Bunk bed is smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I paid 28 pounds only for one night twin bedroom. I thought it would be in acceptable level only. But it looked very clean with independant toilet. I am happy with it. Just the toilet flush is not strong enough, a bit noisy in next room and no space to place changing clothes outside shower cubicle. Location is acceptable as it took 10 mins walk from birmingham new street station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChoiWanYuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was booked into this hotel by a friend. I read the Tripadvisor reports and was rather worried. I need not have been. The negative reports can only be malicious. It is after all a budget hotel but built fit for purpose. The staff were welcoming and helpful. My room clinically clean and reasonably quiet considering the hotels location. The shower puts those of many five star hotels to shame. The aircon worked well and unobtrusively. Only downside is the rather cheap bread for breakfast. If the occasion arises, I will be back.

Room Tip: 118 overlooks the car park and 117 overlooks the side road, both quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stay at this hotel a lot-- and have started using the one in Cardiff too as a result of the good experiences in Birmingham.
I most places it is the staff that make the difference, Ibis budget must be training staff well because the welcome is equally warm in each location.
Given that these are budget hotels they do not feel cheap, they are built for purpose not old hotels that have been downgraded-- so the facilities they offer work -- the showers are better than many higher grade brands.
Admittedly the low price brings some compromises-- the bread on the buffet breakfast is consistently poor quality and many of the beds creak every time you turn over ( but are still comfortable as i like a firm bed) but for the price paid they are excusable-- guest houses would struggle to give the flexibility and service for this price.
Being in the centre of the city there is always a buzz about the place-- lots of people out to enjoy themselves and very international --- so the appeal is universal.
The lifts seem to be working again now so no need to worry if you are on higher floors !!!
Welcoming dogs -- even though I've never taken mine gets them a big extra tick-- these little things add to the likeability of the place.
It's so handy for Chinatown ( Restaurants) Arcadian ( more restaurants) theatres, Arena, Mailbox and the gay village that it is easy to see why it is so popular.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acityvisitor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

At £20 per night including free WiFi and most freeview TV channels it is hard to beat. The room is very basic, but as I am staying for business and paying for the room with my own money it is a bargain and so much cheaper than anything else near the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis budget, Birmingham Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing