We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #64 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank doodie65
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MidWalesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well I don't know where to start!!! But here goes. On arriving at the hotel I was alittle worried on the area it was in, seemed a strange Place to even have a hotel. But I met up with the other 11 people in our party and checked in. When we were told we were on the 4th floor and the lifts were out of order that was the first downfall. It was one of the hottest days of the year so far so lugging our suitcases up 4 flights of stairs in a very hot stuffy hotel was awful. We got to our rooms and on a plus note they were air conditioned!! But very small we had 3 people in each room of our 4 rooms but only 1 towel per room!! Oh and 1 flat pillow per person. The toilet was sooo small and the door didn't shut properly or lock this was in all rooms!!! The shower door was into the room and when showering the rest of your friends could see you in all your glory!!! There were no tea & coffee making facilities and as for plug sockets there were 2 which were placed as far away from a mirror as possible. Anyway we got ready for our night out and on leaving our rooms there were gangs of girls and lads noisily getting ready with stereos playing and drinks spilt all in the corridor!! On arriving back around 12 tired and ready for bed we trekked up the stairs and off to sleep we went! At 4am we were all woke by the gangs of very young people which seemed to be partying on the hallway!!! Lots of swearing and aggression was going on and banging on all the bedroom doors as well as racing each other down the corridors!! This shouting and screaming and awful noise went on till 6am when they all went to bed. It wasn't nice and relaxing and u wouldn't stay here again even if someone paid me to stay!!! Only plus side was cheap parking, comfy mattress and air conditioning. Everything else was awful!!!! Stay away from this hostel!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Some budget hotels charge a low price but manage to still give you all the same facilities as other more expensive hotels.

In this case all it lacked was a kettle and tea/coffee in the room. This is a fairly important thing for me. Other budget hotels manage to provide this, so should Ibis budget.

Otherwise it was great. It's very close (5-10 mins walking distance) to Birmingham new street station and the town hall. The room was compact but clean and had a shower, toilet and TV. The bed was also comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the ibis budget, Birmingham Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the provision of tea & coffee making facilities, which I will forward to our development team for future consideration. Kind regards, Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank ranhatty
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stayer55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank toddie86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,121 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
394 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,002 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $38 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing