We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and comfortable close to centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cheap and comfortable close to centre”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the budget version of the Ibis-and I stayed in it for 3 days in April . The hotel is 15 minute walk to the centre and as the name suggests its a no frills to the point lodging . It is suitable if all you want is a place to sleep with close access to the centre. The check in staff are courteous and prompt . Beware the lifts donor work most of the time , so if you are in floor 3/4 you will have have to carry your luggage all the way up. There is hotel parking at £4 per day. Breakfast is not included in the price- I did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment re quality. The rooms are clean, toilet and showers room reminded me of the inflight toilets with to much space. The bed is comfortable and linens / towels are changed promptly. Taxi to the centre will cost £5 alternately it's a 15 minute walk. Chinese quarters and train station are a similar distance from the hotel. At £34 a night it provides cheap and relatively comfortable accommodation close to the centre. Due to the size of the rooms I may to opt for it if I was travelling with partner or family as the rooms are not very big- but then again it's Budget!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    742
    427
    184
    170
See reviews for
228
494
288
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night. It 'felt' like a budget hotel, but the room (and hotel in general) seemed very clean, comfortable, and the staff were friendly.

I arrived fairly early (~3pm thursday) and was able to get a space in the car park, but it was full a couple of hours or so later (my room overlooked the car park), so don't arrive too late if you want to park.

If wanting to stay in birmingham again, I would definatley consider staying here again - it's great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielPPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We checked-in late and departed early, we were travelling on a budget and this hotel accomodated all our needs.

The staff have all been very friendly and helpfull, our room was clean and quiet.
The rooms have a modern look with comfortable beds, they have a small shower cabin and a seperated toilet. TOP: Coffee during breakfast was excellent !! TIP: Bring your own amenities as they are not provided in the rooms.

I can recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a clean and friendly budget accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelloCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staff very friendly. Hotel very close to town centre - about five minute walk. Motorways about five minutes drive. Garage opposite hotel including shop. Taxi rank outside hotel. Always a space in the hotel car park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank morseheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Room clean bed comfortable lift working. Friendly helpful staff. Bit of noise during night but it is in city centre. Bit annoyed at bottles being emptied before 6 am but otherwise fine. Would I stay again yes I would

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_merritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends to see Beyonce, at £31.00 each for two night stay what more could you ask for. rooms were clean and comfortable and ideal for 3 of us. location is good for getting into town an new street station, it's safe to say I will be looking to stay at an Ibis hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booboo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was a good size, clean and modern. It is a budget hotel so expect any frills but for the money, ideal for a stop-over if you can put up with all the traffic noise. The room I was in faced to a very busy road which didn't seem to let up of traffic all night. Close to New Street Railway Station and probably just as quick to walk there as it was for me to get a taxi the night I arrived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing