We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Room size was a let down, no kettle for drinks tiny toilet room shower door in main room, bed layout not acceptable for 2 friends sharing, a twin room would have been better, not enough room for 2 let alone 3 in a triple room, room on 3rd floor and the lifts were not working. Overall not satisfied with the accomodation and will not be using any of your chain in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sijoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    742
    426
    184
    170
See reviews for
228
493
288
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a very average hotel, rooms are tiny and have hardly any essentials. Can clean your teeth, have a shower and a toilet at the same time! If you just want somewhere to sleep cheap then book it, although when I got in from night out at 4am the fire alarm was then beeping every 3 seconds until about 6am and then had to be out hotel by 10am so wasn't a great sleep. Get a lot of drunk people hanging around or checking in early hours but I guess that's why they had 3 bouncers on the door. I wouldn't return to this hotel, think I'd rather pay extra £20 and go elsewhere .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libertine-dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a lovely place to stay and the staff are excellent. Brilliant for a few days stay - close to the city, 15 minutes walk. Snacks and coffee available, internet available in lobby.
Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Taxi services available from lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank brigittemcollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have stayed at ibis budget three or four times always good value , it is very basic, this time the weather was very cold and the room felt chilly no matter how we adjusted the air con, heating it made no difference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank johnmaggie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was quite weary as I arrived at this hotel, as a friend had booked it for a Stag Night, especially as I saw the word "budget". The staff were friendly enough as we arrived and the place looked clean. Having climbed the stairs to the 4th floor, lifts both out of order, I openend the door to the room. Wow! I thought there must be another door to another room, but no, it was that small. Ok, so it's a budget hotel. But seriously, they provide you a bed, TV, soap and 1 towel each. The mattress was about 3-4 inches thick foam, and 1 pillow each. A rail on the wall for hanging clothes. No kettle or hairdryer. The shower was a nightmare. 2 temperatures - Very hot or Scalding, and using it as carefully as you like just soaks most of the bathroom floor. Breakfast was £5 for tea/coffee and toast or cereal. Pass! I had found other hotels cheaper, but none had 9 rooms available, so that's why we stayed here. Never again! Everyone else in our group had only 1 word to describle their rooms, and it was four-lettered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Juan_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I'd like to thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Formerly the e-tap this is now re-branded as ibis budget.
it's cheap, cheerful but nice modern clean rooms and great loaction for either a night out or shopping trip to Bham.
you don't get tea/coffee in rooms, so what, everything else is pretty good.If you want more home comforts then pay more elsewhere!
You get quite a few groups lads and girls stayin over for night out but each time i stayed never heard much noise. all in all a great cheap stay - book in advance for cheaper rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was expecting some kind of dive and could not have been more surprised, this little gem was clean, comfy and the location was perfect for the departures at Birmingham airport.
The shower was amazing (my bathroom has to have the perfect shower) and the room was clean and compact.
"Cheap as chips" but absolutely perfect.
The staff were all friendly and some of the best customer service I experienced in UK. Good job!!!! Highly recommend this place if you need someone to sleep before your flight.

Room Tip: I never heard anything from the other rooms apart from the occasional door closing...... not even a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkmrsj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing