We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Needed a cheap room for one night and at thirty one pounds for two b&b that's what I got, beds were a bit hard but room was spotless, decent shower, had a telly which kept my son amused, decent continental style breakfast, close (ish) to NEC suited our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneLastcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,675 - 1,681 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

OK, this isn't the Hilton. You won't be having your wedding here. You wouldn't use it for a romantic weekend break. It's probably not where you would think "must go back here, it's the best hotel ever". But I still give it 4 stars. Why? Nine of us were going to a Test Match at Edbaston in fancy dress. We needed somewhere clean and safe to drop our stuff and sleep. It cost £15 each per night, it was clean, it was a kick up the backside from the bars in Birmingham, not far from the cricket and the staff had a great sense of humour. If I was going back for a weekend on the beer, I'd have no hesitation stopping here again. There also seemed to be a few families kicking around which was great - it kept the atmosphere jovial rather than night club. A nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

So glad you had an enjoyable time at the hotel! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Second time in this hotel, and definately the last. First time i got uber cheap price so couldnt possibly complain or grumble no matter what i thought. This time, paid just a fraction below what i would pay for a 'real' hotel.
The room i was allocated was one of the triple rooms. Immediately noticed how much smaller the room felt in comparison to the double room i had had previously. When lying on the bed felt very dark and small and cramped due to the fact that you had a bed above you. Had to take care when getting up from bed not to smack my head on the bunk above.
The pillows have to be the worst, most cheapest, most awful pillows ever invented. I even looked at the label to see what they were made of.. lets just say they werent 300 count egyptian cotton. Bed sheets of equally cheap nasty material. A very restless, sweaty, uncomfortable sleepless night.
Tiny shower closet right next to bed, not a single toiletry in sight. Tiny toilet with a useless flush. Noise from main road.
All in all... if you get the room for £20 ish a night, and expect nothing you will be okay. Otherwise avoid at any cost. I never understand the budget hotels pricing policies.. If your budget and offer nothing, then dont charge £60+ a night. Budget is budget. For £60 i could have stayed at a far superior hotel, with real amenities, bedding not made out of stuff i had to google to know what it was, facilites etc etc.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieHenstridge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel was very minimalistic, It reminded me of IKEA. Just literally bed, desk, & TV. Wet room ensuite was literally a "wet room". The poor camber on the floor meant that the shower water flowed in the opposite direction from the drainage hole on the floor under the shower. There was no where to put my clothes other than the floor, only my quick reflexes saved my clothes from getting soaked ! I then had to place a towel on the floor to enable me to walk on the floor without getting my feet soaked after my very quick shower !
This aside, it was clean & breakfast was ok. Staff weren't overly friendly - minimalistic, just like the hotel.

Room Tip: Turn off air conditioning when going to bed - it was very noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here one night over Jubilee weekend. Excellent hotel, basic rooms but very modern and for £25 what you expect! Very clean anmd staff very cheery and helpful.Parking just £4 for 34 hours. Everywhere is local so would reccomend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul U, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
572 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,147 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,315 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre

Address: 1 Great Colmore Street, Birmingham B15 2AP, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $43 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis budget is a budget hotel, offering clean and comfortable accommodation, with guaranteed standards of service and a simple food option at really affordable prices. It is ideally located within the city centre, walking distance of "Bull Ring" shopping centre, Broad Street, Arcadian Centre and the main entertainment areas. The hotel offers 24-hour reception and the option to accommodate up to three people per room. 250 en-suite bedrooms including 12 accessible rooms - "Fraiche" offers a selection of sandwiches & snack 24 / 7 - "Eat as much as you like" continental buffet breakfast. FREE Wifi is now available in all public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham
Etap Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing