We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
42
25
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
25
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lucas house queen elizabeth hospital visiting daughter hospital appointment university campus comfortable bed hot breakfast place to stay twin room excellent hotel modern hotel great room comfortable stay clean rooms stayed one night min walk other hotels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good hotel. Very clean and modern. It even smells nice. Comfortable beds, excellent shower and toiletries. Bottles of water and biscuits in the room on arrival. Huge HD TV on the bedroom wall. USB charge points by the bed, very useful. Wifi of high standard. Easily able to stream Netflix etc.

Only a few negatives...

Breakfast too expensive for me. Went for a short walk down the road into student town and paid £4 less. Lavazza coffee in the foyer - tastes like dirt in a cup. There's a Starbucks just round the corner which is nicer and cheaper.

Checkout too early. Obviously most people are here to go to conferences or meetings, but 10am is a bit early if you're not one of those people (like me)

Great size HD TV in the room, but the sound quality is below average.

Free parking, but limited spaces outside hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nebby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Edgbaston Park Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nebby N,

Thank you for four comments following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the room and the facilities and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving at Edgbaston Hotel it was not clear where the hotel actually was and multiple buildings to choose from with no sign for reception.
I tried on 4 occasions to call reception to find out where to go and it just rang out and eventually just cut me off. Frustrating
Room was average and did not warrant the £170 rate for a standard room,housekeeping had not replenished the essential such as toilet tissue.

Shame as it looks like a great set up but lacked the attention to detail.

Man the phones
Clearly sign post things

Won’t be back and would not recommend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank GordonR832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Edgbaston Park Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GordonR832,

thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. Id like to use this opportunity to apologise for the issues you encountered. My management team and I are meeting later today to discuss your comments and look at any changes that can be made in light of them.

Once again, please accept my apologies and thank you again for the feedback.

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night for a business meeting at the uni. It is only ten min walk from the uni campus. The hotel is recently refurbished and it does look like brand new. The room was spacious and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank sellocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Edgbaston Park Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sellocello (Love the name!)

Thank you for your comments, the team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed both breakfast and your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Stopped over at this hotel while visiting daughter in Birmingham. Was pleasantly surprised how good this hotel was for the bed and breakfast rate they were charging ! The biggest surprise is that they welcome dogs. The hotel and the rooms are very modern and stylish, with the rooms having an iron, ironing board, coffee making facilities and large wall mounted TV. The bar area had a good drinks selection and was very relaxing. The breakfast was great and there was a good choice of cooked foods as well as continental options. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Great grounds for walking the dog. Will definitely stop here again

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 922alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Edgbaston Park Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 922alan,

thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel for your recent visit to Birmingham and for your feedback following it. Im delighted that you found it such good value and that you got to enjoy our breakfast before you left.

We look forward to welcoming you (and your four legged friend) back again soon!

Kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

The staff were outstanding from the outset, with consideration of mobility problems. Room was excellent, bath water scalding hot, and a very comfortable bed. The gardens are very pleasant, and the area is quiet. Whilst the breakfast was good, a shortage of staff meant that things were running out and crockery pulling up. That said, this is an excellent hotel and well worth choosing over other ‘premium’ offers locally.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank BiviBag_ADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Edgbaston Park Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BiviBag_ADV,

thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. We strive to deliver great levels of service and I was pleased to read that you were well looked after during your visit.

Thank you also for you feedback on Breakfast which has been passed to our Food and Beverage management team for immediate action.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews