We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Newark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed for 1 night (thankfully) for a wedding, so for convenience it was spot on. We checked in, opened the door threw the bags in and went to the wedding reception. It wasn't until the following morning that we got to look at the room- awful. The dated decor in the room was only surpassed by the dirt; with cobwebs and what looked like bodily fluids on the wall. If the bathroom had been cleaned it must have been when the room was last decorated (circa 1979). If it hadn't have been for the convenience of the location for us we would have moved to a proper hotel. We didn't take breakfast as we wanted to get home as soon as possible. This was a very, very poor advert for Birmingham and the university.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diverNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    56
    22
    14
See reviews for
28
32
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

As other reviews state this hotel needs serious updating. Single glazed metal window frames with permanently open dep vents the full length of each window (closing mechanism clearly removed years ago) make room drafty and noisy. Internal noise bad, toilets, taps, showers can be heard clearly from all angles. Had to run shower for 15 minutes one night before water got warm. Reported problems to receptionist on leaving and all she said was 'oh yeah they are working on the showers'. Feels like an institution with dingey old brown highly varnished woodwork everywhere. Room clean but dated. Only good point is the amazing breakfast - but it's a lot to pay for a good breakfast. Handy for Uni but don't stay here if you want to have easy access to town - nearest train station a brisk 20 mins walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here for one night while visiting the University. Good location. Easy walking distance to most Departments and to the train station. Unfortunately, that is about the only good point. The room was shabby, dated and coming apart at the seams. The street-light directly outside my window gave the place and eery orange glow all night even with the curtains as tightly shut as I could get them. The bathroom was pretty shocking in terms of bits falling off everywhere and a shower that was little more than a tepid trickle.

You get what you pay for, and here if is not much.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

I booked the accommodation for 3 nights whilst on a course at the uni, as it is close and has parking. The accommodation is basic, no frills student accommodation, which is fine if you go prepared for basics, not luxury. Walls are very thin - no privacy and you will hear all oblutions from guests in the next room. Buffet breakfast was OK, as was the evening meal, but if staying for several nights I'd advise escaping for a bit of variety.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear overlook countryside - no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I just needed a simple room for one night after attending a concert at the magnificent Birmingham Symphony Hall. I looked for low cost, last minute rooms in the city centre but found nothing suitable so took a well priced offer from the Birmingham University Conference Centre instead (£50 all inclusive). Located only a couple of miles outside the city centre, it’s convenient for the centre’s attractions but also away from the noise and bustle. Parking was free and spacious outside the various conference buildings, and check in at Lucas House painless. My room was actually in an adjacent building but on the short walk I encountered a free water fountain and fresh-brewed complimentary coffee .
My room – a single – had everything one would expect from a 4* hotel – tea making, complimentary mineral water, TV, fan heater and even ironing facilities. Wi-Fi internet was also available for no extra charge. The room and bathroom were not spacious but perfectly adequate for my short stay – with heated towel rails and complimentary shower gels, soap and conditioner.
The inclusive breakfast began at the very reasonable time of 7:15 next morning (I wanted an early getaway) and the full English buffet continued the high standard of the remainder of the facilities.
All in all, a great experience for a short stay in quiet, relaxing environment conveniently located for the delights of the rejuvenated Birmingham city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlight42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed there for one night for a conference. Lucas House offers basic accomodation - a true "no frills" experience. Located in a very quiet area and providing free parking and Wifi it is a convenient place if you're looking for proximity to Birmingham University. The premises look and feel rather dated, but the room was clean. Wouldn't want to walk barefoot on the carpet, though. All in all: you pay what you get for.

Room Tip: I had a room facing to the backyard. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

As the other reviews already state these are very basic accommodations that are reasonably clean (don't look too closely in the corners) near the university, which is located outside of Birmingham (not in walking distance). Attending business/events at the university is the main (only?) reason to stay there. My room was in Hornton Grange across the road from Lucas house and was better than than the room in Lucas house I stayed in last time. Be prepared to have to ask for fresh towels if you don't like re-using damp ones (the towel heater was not working, and in typical English climate, they don't dry within a day). A small soap and shampoo is provided (probably one can ask for more if one runs out) and the room had an iron & ironing board. The wifi was sufficient to use Skype and the password works anywhere on campus. I gave it an average rating as compared to other university accommodations.

On the rather positive side, they are serving both breakfast and dinner in Lucas house, which is very convenient if you just want to get something to eat and don't want to make the trip back to the city center. Dinner is actually quite good and very reasonably priced. It is carefully prepared and there are three choices for the main course. Be aware that there is a sign-up sheet for dinner as there are sometimes large groups though it never filled up when I was there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escaliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Conference Park from venuebirmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conference Park from venuebirmingham

Property: The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Address: 48 Edgbaston Park Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 2RA, England (Formerly University of Birmingham Conference Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Conference Park from venuebirmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a meeting, conference, exhibition and wedding venue at the University of Birmingham. We are only 3 miles from Birmingham City Centre, but our conference park is set amongst green parklands, just off the University of Birmingham campus. We have hosted the 2010 General Election leaders debate and the BBC Antiques Roadshow; we can offer full catering, hotel accommodation and bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Conference Park from venuebirmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Conference Park From Venuebirmingham Hotel Birmingham
University Birmingham Conference Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing