We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Briar Rose Hotel
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed February 22, 2010

It seems that the Briar Rose used to be a bit grim but since it has been refurbished it is a really good hotel for the price. The rooms are big and well appointed and you cannot fault the position.

It is a bit strange having breakfast with a few old men knocking back the lager at 9.00 but the breakfast is good and cheap but not included in the room rate.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and everything except the soap and shower gel was in place. I would recommend bringing your own soap, shampoo etc because the dispensers provided were either empty or impossible to use.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toller_Rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Dear Toller_Rant,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed here on 22 January 2010, and the rooms had just been refurbished. It was so good, I have been moved to write my first tripadvisor review to make up for some of those below.

I booked the room the day before on the Briar Rose's own website, and as a result got a bargain - a double room for about £35. I was a bit worried having read previous reviews, but my refurbished room was outstanding. Nice comfortable double bed, good flatscreen TV with freeview, decent bath and shower, and coffee making facilities in the room. I was on the third floor and there was no problem with the lift or any noise from the bar downstairs, which I think is open til 1am on weekends. I've paid double the rate to stay in other hotels in Birmingham, and they were no better than this. The staff were really friendly (possibly in a good mood as it was the weekend the bar and hotel re-opened) and the location is also really convenient for the city. If there was a slight criticism, the room was a bit too hot, but it was easy enough to open the window. There is no room service, and I didn't try the breakfast which was available in the bar downstairs, but I understand it's standard Wetherspoons fare - about £4 for a fry up. If I were being sceptical, I don't know how long the rooms will stay this nice - I was really lucky that I was staying there immediately after it re-opened. But I can't criticise a hotel for what might happen in the future, so top marks from me.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manfromthemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Dear manfromthemeadow,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

Guest feedback is very important to us and its so lovely to read some of the things you have wrote.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed for one night at this hotel. Like other people we were a bit worried about the negative reviews but as it was only 1 night and we got a very cheap deal we didnt think twice. Well when we got there we found it very easy and access to the hotel is seperate to the bar although you can get access to the hotel through a door inside the bar area. The lift was fully working although the speaker did make some annoying noises. Well the room was far better than we expected, very clean and modern with a beautiful chair in the corner and 32" Samsung plasma on the wall. The shower worked ok although not very powerful however a friend staying on the floor below said his was very powerful so it may depend on what room you end up in. The toilet needed a bit of 'chain milking' to flush properly but didnt cause any problems. The bed was very comfortable, view from the window wasnt much to look at, just the buildings behind. Overall we had a great stay and Briar Rose would be the only place we would book when we come back to Birmingham.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank poetsofthefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Dear poetsofthefall,

Thank you for leaving us a great 5* review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks

The Briar Rose Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed at the Briar Rose for one night, and would say that on the whole it was good, but had some problems.

My mum had reserved a twin room for the two of us months ago, and when we arrived to check in at 6.15pm we were told that the room had been refurbished and was now a double, and they had no other rooms available. We were a bit disappointed that they had no system in place whereby they could have notified us of this earlier, but as we didn’t fancy trailing round Birmingham after a very long day to see if anywhere else had a room available, we had to make do.

The room itself was nicely decorated and clean, although we didn’t have any coffee so I had to find the phone (which was in the corridor, bizarrely) and ring reception to ask for some. There didn’t seem to be any great rush to get this up to us, but when it did come there was plenty. The only other problem we encountered was a lot of noise in the corridor around 1am, which went on for about an hour. Although the hotel isn’t entirely to blame for this, one of the people who was either talking extremely loudly or shouting sounded to be a member of staff.

Overall, apart from not getting the room we reserved and other issues, I would say this is decent budget accommodation. However, after arriving home and checking the rates of other hotels nearby, I would be more inclined to take my custom elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babypink83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Dear babypink83

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Please accept our apologies for the issues you have raised in your review. We are deeply sorry that you were not notified regarding the change to your room type.

Our Receptionist team try very hard to insure all customer requirements and requests are met, however, due to other issues that may require immediate attention, there can be a slight delay for other guests.

we hope that these issues you encountered did not ruin your visit to Birmingham and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
394 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,002 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,122 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briar Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $72 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing