We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
Ranked #79 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Worst experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I decided to book an apartment to treat myself after a 7 weeks of backpacking Europe. I arrived at the apartment and had to wait a very long time to be checked in.
Once I got in the apartment I found there was no hot water. I spoke to the receptionist who said she would come up and check.
After an hour had gone by she was nowhere to be seen. When she finally came up she told me she would send for a plumber. So I went to the shops expecting to have running water on my return. Nothing! and the receptionist had left for the day!!! Then the next day I tried to call a taxi from the phone and it didn't work!! as it was a public holiday and there were no inhouse staff at the apartment I was stuck running around the town trying to find a taxi.
Most stressful experience I should have stuck with the hostels!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for completing your review, I can see you stayed with us in April 2012, I'm sorry you had problems with your hot water and that the problem was not resolved, we do provide an emergency number for when the office is closed, although you stayed over Easter we are still open each day Bank holidays being limited hours however still open 10 - 6.
Once again sorry for the inconvenience caused

Kind Regards

Claire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    85
    37
    28
    16
See reviews for
21
77
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very well equipped apartments in a central location right across the road from the bullring and on the edge of Chinatown. Clean, tidy and well maintained. We will definitely use these apartments again on our next trip to birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the great scores and lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return and recommend to your friends.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Claire, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is good...but that's it. I really don't understand all the other positive reviews. I am travelling for business and this accommodation is not any cheaper than the ones in which I usually stay. Nevertheless the quality of the rooms is one of the worst I have encountered. There is no breakfast, no free internet,, the bedroom is cold and noisy and the overall decor is incredibly dated (10-15 years). I am cutting my stay short and checking out tomorrow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carlolik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, I spoke with you after your first night’s stay due to your business needs changing and you were not required in Birmingham for the second night and were trying to cancel, however due to cancellation periods and the travel agent you booked through you were unable to cancel however none of the above were brought to my attention at this point, as General Manager I ensure I do my upmost to address any problems immediately once informed, I’m sorry on this occasion you did not inform me of your issues.

Kind Regards

Claire, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

excellent location 5 mins walk to new street station. spar right next door and on the otherside a take out food place with a good selection of ethnic food. the bullring is right outside the window. It is clean but not spotless good bedlinen with extra pillows would stay again no problem if you are on a budget its the place for you, or travelling with children as there is a seperate bedroom and living space. no complaints

Room Tip: request a room to the front of the building because the flowermarket is to the back and deliveries s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Premier Apartments Birmingham, we are ideally situated whether it be for shopping, site seeing or an excellent night out. It's lovely to read you will stay again and that you will recommend us in the future, I hope I can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Claire, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the second time that we have spent a month over the Christmas/New Year period at Premier Apartments in Birmingham. The location in the centre of the city is superb (close to the markets, the Bullring, shops and buses) and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful (front desk, cleaning staff, maintenance man etc.) Our apartment (Room 112) was well appointed, well equipped and very comfortable and clean. It was also surprisingly quiet, apart from the odd noisy bunch of people who congregated on the pavement outside the Travel Lodge across the street in the wee hours of the morning. Overall, it was a very satisfactory month, just as it was last time. We would definitely recommend Premier Apartments to anyone visiting Birmingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and the staff will do all they can to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review, it was lovely to welcome you both back again to Premier Apartments Birmingham this year. Thank you for the lovely feedback on my team I will ensure they are all aware, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay again with us and its excellent you would recommend others to visit.

I hope I can welcome you back in the future when your next here visiting family.

Kindest Regards

Claire GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in apartment 504 on the top floor and it was really nice, we were cacross the road from the market and Bullring shopping center so ideal location.
The only thing that is a bit YUCK is the strong smell of stale cigarette smoke in the living area, especially when we booked a no smoking room months in advance, so was a bit dissappointed but got some air freshener and that helped but they should keep some apartments that are strictly NO SMOKING and if they dont have one available when you book then its up to the customer whether they book a smoking one or not, having said that it wouldn,t put us off staying again.
The parking is 12 pound a night but its pretty secure so we didnt mind.
The staff were great all really helpful, we did have an incident of some children running up and down our corridor at 9am kicking doors and shouting. God know where the parents were!! we did report to reception and the lady said she,d look into it and we never heard anymore noise.
These apartments are comfy, warm, welcoming and central.
If you,re looking for somewhere to eat head for the pavillions shopping center top floor grab a table and there is a choice of eateries we dont recommend Fat jackets tho they were so small its ridiculous but we did try the italian and loved it so much we kept going back to try something different each time, There is a vegetarian cafe up there and a few others didnt get a bad meal at all.
Tried the soya restraunt under the apartments and it was quite nice but still prefered the pavillions.

Room Tip: Top floor front of building didnt notice traffic noise and veiws are beter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us in Birmingham, I'm sorry we could not allocate a non-smoking apartment for you, my intensions next year is to make another floor non-smoking which will even the smoking and non-smoking apartments.
It's lovely to read you enjoyed your stay and that you would return.
Next time your here try the Arcadian which is just at the bottom of the road, there are plenty of bars and restaurants to try.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Happy New Year

Kind Regards

Claire, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very impressed with the standard of apartment and freindliness of the staff. The apartment was clean and well maintained and delivered what it said "on the box". Location couldn't be better for central Birmingham and all the shopping, as well as being in the heart of the entertainment areas. Good value parking on site. Absolutely no complaints, will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edm71056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBirmingham, General Manager at PREMIER SUITES Birmingham, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, I will ensure all the team are aware of your feedback.

I will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy New Year

With Warmest Regards

Claire and All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PREMIER SUITES Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PREMIER SUITES Birmingham

Property: PREMIER SUITES Birmingham
Address: 38 Upper Dean Street | Dean House, Birmingham B5 4SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PREMIER SUITES Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your PREMIER SUITES Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Apartments Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Premier Apartments Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing