We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, pity about the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at the Premier Inn on Friday and Saturday this week, to go to the Camping and Caravan Show at the NEC.

We didn't arrive until 8:00pm after a 3.5 hour drive on Friday night, we were checked in very efficiently, and our room was spot-on. We were advised to go into the restaurant to make a booking for a table as it was extremely busy. We queued for 20 mins, and got a table booking for 22:00. This was fine with us, as long as we were going to get something to eat! And after the drive, a couple of glasses of wine was just exactly what we needed :-). The woman (for the hotel's benefit, with short blonde hair) on the reception greeting area, was carrying out a thankless task of getting everyone into the restaurant for meals. She did this with absolute professionalism, even with disgruntled people kicking off all over the place. One of the main reasons for residents of the hotel not being able to get into the restaurant, is that a lot of people from the NEC on-site campsite had came over to the restaurant for meals. We were assured that Saturday night would be better, as people were only allowed in if they had a booking.

We had a couple of drinks in the bar after the NEC show, and watched the queue building up again, but were pleased to see that the staff were turning people away if they didn't have a booking. We came back to the bar at 8pm, for our table that was booked for 8:15. We eventually got to our table at 8:50pm. The guy that was running the restaurant was totally incompetent. There were actually 5 and 6 empty tables, but nothing was co-ordinated to get them cleaned, re-set and people into the restaurant.

Having said all of this - the meals were very very nice, and would recommend anyone to stay / eat at this hotel.

The hotel management really need to think about their restaurant policy, particularly when the C&C on site camp site is setup. Meals really should be restricted to residents only when the hotel is so full.

Some of the staff seemed to work extremely long hours. Laura was behind the bar when we went to bed at 01:00, and she was serving breakfast at 9am! But most of them were extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smr_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,011 - 2,017 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed here for one night after being at caravan show at NEC, easy to find, staff very friendly and helpful. Nice room apart from the fact I think we were in the attic and had a slopping wall which I had to remind myself of during the night when it was dark and I nearly bumped my head . Ate in restaurant which is not big enough for the hotel, was very busy and canteen like but food was good when it arrived. Staff kept very calm with some irate customers waiting for their tables. Breakfast good but need to be early to get table and avoid que. think bigger restaurant ismuch needed here. But al in all a nice hotel stop over.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Beautiful looking hotel, looks great when you walk in and are greeted by a warm smile and a cosy feel. Check-in was quick and easy, room was close by and I really liked the view. We were on the top floor and the room felt really cosy with the eaves, although my boyfriend and I both hit our heads on them while walking around the room. There was a portable heater in the room, which left the room lovely and warm, but I was a little unhappy to wake up in a sauna in the middle of the night, I know most Premier Inns have heaters on a thermostat. The shower was amazing! And after a slightly heavy night in the very welcoming bar, the shower worked a treat for getting rid of my headache before a days shopping in Birmingham. It is about a 15 minute walk to the main part of the NEC and they let you leave your car at the hotel free of charge. The restaurant seems very well ran and the Premier breakfast was an extremely well-stocked 'all you can eat'. Will definitely stay here again, was very impressed with the cosy feeling of this hotel considering it's the second biggest in the company!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYork119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and helpful team members met your expectations. Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Visited the Premier inn nec with a work colleague for an overnighter. Arrival was fine and automated check in. Room was fair, but tiles falling off the bathroom wall, near the floor but still loose. (room 142) Usual facilities in room, everything worked, beds comfy, although pillows were niether here nor there, one was too soft, the other too hard. shower very good.
We visited the restraunt, where prices were reasonable, ordered food, bar was busy and had to wait ages for a pint, so ordered drinks from table, still took 20 minutes to get a pint!
When it came to settling the bill there was a problem, two meals and four pints, over £50!!!! Challenged the bill, and were told we had had three meals and extra beer. When the bill was finally adjusted it came to £34 between the two of us.
Wether this was a genuine mistake or trying to put a make off without payment meal on our business account I dont know, but check you restraunt bill, it could be more than you bargained for.

Food was fair for the money, breakfast is all you can eat, good selection of cereals toast and a cracking non greasy fry up.

All in all, not a bad hotel, but watch what you are spending!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanIngamells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my 2 children and yet again we had a great stay here. The rooms are large, fresh and clean, beds are very comfortable, there is air con in your room, lovely bathroom and the hotel is in a quiet location. Tremendous value as I only paid £29 per night, with an additional £7.95 per day for us to eat a fantastic breakfast every morning, the choices there are superb and the food is served fresh and hot.

We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings and yet again the food was of a very high standard, very enjoyable and reasonably priced. The one thing I would comment about was the price of soft drinks at the bar £2.69 for an orange juice and lemonade, far too expensive!!!.

However, we will be visiting the Premier Inn again in the future as it is tremendous value for money, great location for the purpose of our visit and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelinspector48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed in this hotel mid July, and cost just £29 for the night. It is a typical premier inn, with the usual comfortable decor, and high levels of cleanliness. Very comfortable beds, with air con in each room which is nice.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, which was very nice dinner, and good breakfast for a little extra.
This hotel is very close the the airport and NEC, but if you dont have a car then it can be a bit isolated, in that its quite a walk to the airport when you have bags to carry etc, and would reccommend a taxi if you havnt got parking arranged.
Not the quietest hotel I have stayed at, but thats what you come to expect with an airport hotel, with people leaving for early flights.
All in all would reccommend for business travelers on the way to the airport only.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam_king86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stopped off here on our way to Bath. Its my first premier inn, easy to find and plenty of parking.
The room was huge, with a massive bed which was super comfortable. TV, air con in room.. Good bathroom with shower so powerful it leaves you feeling so refreshed in the morning.
I didn't go for the breakfast, about £7.50 all you can eat, and under 16's eat free!
Would defiantly stay at one of these again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lordy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,922 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
1,187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.1 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel

Address: Bickenhill Parkway | National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $59 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending a show or an exhibition? Stay at our fantastic location close to Birmingham's NEC Arena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing