We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC GO THERE”

Thinktank Science Museum
Ranked #30 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thinktank is Birmingham's unique and award-winning science museum housed at Millennium Point in the heart of the city.  This exciting attraction offers ten galleries of historical artefacts, modern interactives and fantastic futuristic facts. You can explore everything from aircraft and steam engines to intestines and taste buds - and even emotional robots!  Thinktank is like nothing you've ever seen before and will stimulate your mind whatever your age.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC GO THERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We took two three year olds - a boy and a girl. Fantastic! We were worried we were going to run out of things to do, but it was more that we had more to do than we had time for. We saw a film in the Imax, specifically for youngsters, and it was perfectly pitched. There were lots of 'hands on' activities for the children to do, and the science garden is really well considered. My 3 year old was enjoying it so much she put her all in one on and carried on playing in the rain so she could work out how to do the lock system on the miniature canal.

You can get a reduced price for entrance if you travel there on the train - it is a short walk from Moor St. You can take your own food, but the cafes by the entrance are reasonably priced and I was pleased with the range and quality of food available (I am very funny about what my daughter eats).

My only (pretty large) disappointment was the train. I have very fond memories of seeing it move when I was a youngster, and it does not move anymore ;C

We will go again - lots.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyGirl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    445
    219
    106
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lots of different scientific interactive displays. We were particularly good at the recycling quiz but not so good at being a forensic scientist! It was a pity the planetarium was closed for maintenance as we would have liked to see what was in there. Some of the old engineering machines were very interesting and it was great to be able to have a tale relating to the trams etc. A little expensive - £24.50 for 2 adults so investigate options as you are able to buy a season ticket and visit more often. Eastside development meant it was not easy to access but once this is complete it looks like it will be a fantastic park.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing place to take your children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

great day out, even from Manchester. So much hands on experimental physics stuff for children to play with of all ages. The outdoor garden so many gadgets and water play things.How things are recycled. Also the planetarium, lovely little story about a star. Making the robots work with computers. We stayed there all day, there is so much to do and see and still did not finish.
Cafes let them down could do with a slightly better standard of food and choices. rolls fell apart. Healthy sandwiches for adults would be good. cloakroom and lockers if required, it is pleasantly warm walking about.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davinacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“school trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

went with school pupils on a sunday afternoon. what fun we all had. lots to see and do. the interactice stuff was good. the science was interseting and fun too.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've been going to the think tank for the last few years. Invested in a season ticket which was well worth it. Been 6 times this year so far. Brilliant for kids of all ages - loads of hands on stuff. A great planetarium than plays 360 degree films about the stars (for kids) and loads exhibitions. They now have opened a great outdoor garden with loads of things to. There is also a great historic section with a steam train, loads of old machines, cars, planes and engines. There is really too much to do in a day.:-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thinktank Science Museum also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Thinktank Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing