We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My Partner booked us a night here as a birthday treat, I use a lot of Radisson hotels so wanted to try out the local one.

We booked a business class room on a high level which was very clean & comfortable with a floor to ceiling window along the full length of one wall. Unfortunately I had a cold at the time so did not completely get into the spirit of enjoying the hotel, the kitchen staff were very helpful though when I went down in the early morning to find some honey and a lemon to make myself a hot drink for my sore throat

The breakfast was what you would expect for a hotel of this class with an excellent choice of options and efficient table service.

Hopefully I will find an excuse to stay here again some day so that I can take in the full experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,300)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,092 - 2,098 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed here for one night recently. I hardly ever write reviews. My room was one of the "fashion" rooms which looked quite nice on the website but in reality is was a bit shabby. The electricty in my room didn't work (it is operated by the keycard) and despite asking, and being reassured 3 times that they would send someone up to fix it, they didn't. I got fed up and in the end went out to get something to eat and asked them to fix it while I was gone but they weren't really very nice about it.
Breakfast was really good but alas, when it came to check out, there was a queue of about 18 people and it took ages and ages. I don't know what it was about the place, I think it is trying to "upmarket" and "swanky" but the service is so poor and they had no manners. Additionally, the discounted car park is actually quite dark and dangerous and smells of pee (I suppose they all do!) - My room had a lovely view of the Medusa "Gentlemen's" club too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triona_dunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed in the Radisson Blu afew weeks ago with my sister, it was perfect, the room was at the back as we asked for a quiet room and it was just that, the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was excellent, we got taxis A to B taxi company which are very reasonable and most professional. We ate at the Mal Maison which is afew mins walk from hotel, it was outstanding. This hotel is far superior to the St Johns solliul which we stayed in last visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnemaraDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Only stayed at the hotel for just one night for the 'Taste of Birmingham' Festival, but was genuinely impressed.

We turned up mid morning in the hope of leaving a large bag of ours at the hotel before checking in later, but we were told by the extremely polite and helpful receptionist that we could actually check in early.

Our room was both clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Check out was also a smooth and relaxing process. Very impressed and would certainly stay there again if we were in Brum'

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night and can only say my stay was faultless.
Magnificent friendly staff, very clean hotel, good standard food.
RADISSON BLU - THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camberwell-lip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Travelled with 6 colleagues and we all had a super welcome, great rooms, location, excellent staff!
This hotel is blighted noise from local clubs. Every night of our mid week three night stay was disturbed. Feel sorry for Raddison! Do not stay here if you want a quiet location.

Parking is subsidised in the NCP behind the hotel is dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurstleghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel looks strikingly modern from the exterior and this is carried through in the vibrant room decor.
The welcome and service we got was excellent. We ate in the restaurant one evening and that was a pleasant experience at a reasonable price (for a hotel).
I would stay here in future which is the best recommendation I can make!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,083 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
2,310 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $94 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing