We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed March 8, 2007

stayed here for one night recently. Had a great room, all pink and very contemporary - the most comfortable bath I have ever been in, it had a great slope at the back! bed was lovely, and the duvets good quality. It was a bit warm though and we couldn't seem to reduce the temperature very effectively. The previous night my two sisters stayed as well and had no hot water but were given a substantial discount off the room rate when they asked. Breakfast was very good quality, a great selection and in pleasant surroundings. Just had one issue with the minibar in that it says that you will automatically be charged for any items moved or removed - but in such small writing, that it wasn't noticed until we had jiggled everything around! but none of us were charged - just as well, we hadn't used any of them! All in all really enjoyed it and would definitely return.

  • Liked — the duvets!
  • Disliked — difficult to reduce temperature in the room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrandall2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    743
    522
    283
    167
See reviews for
131
791
134
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

This is not your normal Radisson - at least not like those in the U.S. The room was incredible! Large! I had heard the rooms in England were very small - not here. The bedroom was very large with a panoramic view of - well - Birmingham but still very nice. The bathroom was also very large and nice. New. Towels luxurious. Bedding luxurious. Flat screen TV. As we were heading to our room, I mentioned I needed a US--> UK power adaptor and the person handling our luggage told us to go ahead and he'd get us one. A minute later he was at the room with our luggage and the power adaptor. No charge - fast, very friendly service. I highly recommend the 'business class' rooms if you can afford them.

Only downside - I would agree with another reviewer. The breakfast was very good but the service indifferent. No coffee refills and no enthusiasm/smiles. Give your restaurant staff a lesson on 'customers = jobs' and there would be no downside at all.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank catgetsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

This is a new local hotel for us and we were very much looking forward to our stay. Overall, unfortunately we were disappointed.

Good points were:

- Check in was lovely; lifts were swift.
- Room was high (as we had requested), and the room was fine
- Service and ambience in the bar were nice
- Breakfast food quality was good
- Check out was friendly and efficient

-Down points were:

-Only one pillow each in the room
- The air conditioning came on loud and long of its own accord at 3.00 am in the morning, which woke us up and carried on annoyingly
- We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The food at dinner was excellent but the service was not. We waited ages for our orders to be taken (it wasn't busy), ages again between courses and forever for our main course plates to be taken away,(which they never were). We were not offered desert/coffee and eventually just left, disappointed.
- Service at breakfast was indifferent, and detracted from the good quality of food that was available.

Overall, we are not inclined to return.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Concorde2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Stayed for one night, in the middle of the Spring Fair (which I didn't know was on!). Hotel was full but staff were welcoming and efficient. Room was "standard" Radisson SAS but bed was fantastic and worth visiting Birmingham for! Lots of pillows and wonderful duvet and was as warm as toast. Had dinner in the restaurant - superb and fantastic service. Wonderful wines by the glass too which is good if you are on your own! Lots of Free Trade coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the room. Overall a wonderful experience and can't wait to visit Birmingham again just to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripAdvisomember50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Stayed a night here in a business class room.

Very plush hotel situated in central Birmingham. A landmark piece of architecture of the high-rise variety.

Receptionists were clinically efficient and the room was huge. Pod type coffee machine, plasma tv and a wall of windows contributed to the modern loft feel. The only disappointment was the small bathroom- odd given the size of the room. Complementary half bottle of wine a nice touch.

Service in the bar was very good and breakfast next day was the usual comprehensive variety of buffet.

Overall, very swish if a little impersonal. The only major gripe is lack of carpark but there are NCP locations near by.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — No car park
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Yet another of those "trendy" hotels with minimalist styling but nevertheless, very comfortable and welcoming. Rooms dominated by wall to ceiling windows, although the view was unfortunately of a roundabout! Also the hotel seemed to creak when it was windy which was a bit disconcerting.

Overall a pleasant stay but marred by the slightly odd location on a roundabout and in an area of Birmingham which needs updating and was slightly dodgy at night.

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

One word - AMAZING Staff, so friendly nothing too much trouble, Bedroom, fantastic with all the in room facilities you would think you were in a superior room not a standard - there is nothing standard about there rooms. Filini - forget Bank, Simpson, Jesscia's if you haven't dined here then its a must, really reasonable priced too. Having stayed at Hyatt, Malmaison, Hotel Du Vin, Marriott this hotel shines through. I know where I'll be staying again - without a doubt!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozpommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
920 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,412 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing