We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“So So”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hotel is located in a great position in Birmingham city center walking distance to new street train station, even with big suitcases. Everything is OK at this hotel but that's it no wow factor so don't expect one. Taxi's located outside the entrance pretty much 24/7 if required. Mini bar over priced but conveniance store 2 minute walk (exit hotel right) if you need anything.
Rooms ok size wise but outdated and stains on carpet. Also had a few problems with the room key but staff quickly rectified this. Bar area is nice for a pre - drink but no atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTD837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your previous stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. I can also see that you stayed with us back in August of 2013. Since then we have been going through a refurbishment of the property.

Should you ever come back to the hotel please do let me know so that I can look after your booking.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    725
    519
    277
    165
See reviews for
129
777
131
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend on a Sunday night. The hotel looked nice from the outside and check in was straight forward but the room didn't quite live up to the price. The mini bar was empty, the carpet was stained in places, as were the bed sheets! There was no toilet roll in the bathroom either. The bed was large and very comfortable but the curtains were so thin the sunlight came in from about 6 am. The hotels location was great, very central, near to the train station and the bull ring. The staff on check out advised that they would look at the room and try to fix for future guests and arranged for our parking to be free of charge as a goodwill gesture.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Susie

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to know that the staff here looked after you the best they could after hearing of the issues that you had encountered. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments in order for us to improve on our service.

Should you ever look to come back and stay with us do let me know so that I can personally look after your booking.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Staff are welcoming and friendly always willing to help, we had no issues with our stay, everything we needed was right around the corner, when checking out we was also able to leave our luggage there which was very helpful as we could pick them up at at more convenient time which allowed us to shop and do other jobs. The hotel itself is clean, rooms are spacious and modernly decorated.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Simren

Thank you for your delightful feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the rest of the team who are equally delighted to hear of the positive reply.

Should you be staying with us again, please do let me know.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister for one night as our mothers day treat off our other halfs....we chose here as we were having a rare night out away from the kids and it looked very nice on the website. On arrival at the hotel we was greeted by a lady who checked us in....she wasnt over friendly and seemed very distracted it was a paticulary warm welcome. We was given our cards and went off to our room...we entered the room and found it was a double not a twin that we booked..so we went off back to reception and explained to the same un friendly lady, who then bluntly said "u will still be in this room i will get the beds split" ....no aplogies or anything! We had a drink in the bar whilst we waited. We then went back to the room and the beds were split into twins. The room was "ok" nothing special no added extras that you would get in the hyatt and furnitare was very tired..it wasnt what id call "deep cleaned" either...im not a fussy person but i think for what you pay for a nights stay it should be better. Beds were comfy but the pillows were way to soft..we also kept having problems with one keycard that wouldnt work. We were abit dissapointed as it was our little treat as busy mums, we was looking forwards to our night away and it didnt live up to what we saw on the hotel website. Didnt mention this when checking out as again the lady on reception was very blunt and distracted.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shellys81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Shelly

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear of your recent experience with us. We strive to make sure that all our guests have a postive and memorable stay with us and I can see that we obviously failed you.

I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly when you get a chance to speak more about your stay.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in one of the suites and had fantastic views of the city. We were shown to our room and all the facilities were explained. Room is very comfortable and the staff really want yo to enjoy your stay. Our package included both dinner and breakfast both of which were excellent. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JohnBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Spent three nights here and there wasn't much I could fault. Rooms are clean, quality of the food I ordered for room service was fantastic and enjoyed an empty gym with an amazing view! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Wesley

We very much appreciate your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It has been shared with our team who are equally appreciative of the comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Radisson Blu Birmingham.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Was expecting a certain standard for the price. My room was on a smoking floor ; had not asked for this. And the room itself was very tired and an odd shape - end of the corridor on a corner of the building. No caffeinated coffee, curtains that looked like they would fall down if I pulled them too much and a bath towel that had a large hole in it. Breakfast was ok and front of house staff ok and quite cheery and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPerks, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. From the sounds of it, you were in one of our business class corner rooms. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department as I can understand the frustrations of not having the correct amenities in your room.

Should you ever decide to stay with us again please do let me know so I can personally look after your booking and you will be able to see that this was a one off experience.

Kind Regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing