We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Central, clean and spacious”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Friendly reception, booked in with ease. Great room - airy, light and spacious lovely breakfast - fresh and good choice, I guess my only niggle was the odd sulphur smell of the water both sink and shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farndonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Farndonites,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay and feedback it was great to have you as our guest.
We are sorry to hear about the 'smell' in the bathroom, I have our engineering team on the case to get this addressed.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    729
    521
    280
    167
See reviews for
130
785
134
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel itself was very nice (big, clean, spacious room). The food I had was top notch. Location excellent (near bull ring, near ring road, good nightlife around). No parking though, except to park in the expensive NCP with absolutely tiny spaces, then lug all your luggage back to hotel (5 min walk). Also the gym only opened at 7.30pm?! Seems a bit silly.. people getting back to hotel at around 4/5pm and wanting to use the gym before heading out for dinner at 7/8 cannot do this. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear shazchip,
Many thanks for your recnt stay and sharing your feedback with us.
Unfortunately in the city centre it's difficult to hav your own carpark, which would have my preference over the NCP, in case you notified the reception we provide a discount at the hotel when using the carpark.
In relation to the gym, we open just after the Spa has closed due to space restriction, with the exception of Monday when the Spa is closed, we can only apologise for the inconvenience.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Checked in at 9.30pm and given keys to a 12th floor room. Shower fan was so noisy even with the toilet door closed, that I asked to move rooms. This was done with minimum fuss to another room on the same floor. This room had no TV remote control, smelt very poor and had stained and dirty carpet. I asked on the phone if I was in a smoking room and was told the floor was smoking. I asked yet again to move and this time was shown to a 5th floor room. It was like a completely different hotel - clean, bright, refurbished, smelling just fine. So not at all impressed with their attempts to house me on floor 12 and they really must do something about those rooms. All that said, staff were friendly throughout and breakfast was first rate. It was just not the start I needed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Hisimp,
Many thanks for your recnt stay and sharing your feedback with us.
I totally agree with you why were you not asked upon check in and we could have it right form the first instance.
In April we are upgarding the rooms as you have experienced on the 5th floor, i am very proud to hear that our staff looked after you and you enjoyed our Super breakfast.
See you soon!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday! The hotel from the outside looks huge and very striking! Inside is just as nice! Staff all very friendly! Rooms are big, beds and furniture were a little disappointing as they looked old fashioned. Room was very spacious and nice and bright die to the ceiling to floor windows. The green patterns on the windows are annoying! The TV is also very tiny. Hotel food is delicious, had room service and I have to say it was the best room service food I've ever had! Bathroom was very nice, mirrors were nice and big! Get a lot of facilities in the room too, normal stuff as well as an iron and board. Breakfast is located on the first floor and this was lovely, lots of choice and a big area. Overall very happy and I would visit again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrAdyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear MrAdyyy,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you back any time soon!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I visited the Radisson Blu for a weekend break in Birmingham with my husband. Previously, we stayed at the Malmaison but the Radisson looked good and, for the same price, we could get a king size room rather than a double, so we opted for the Radisson. Well I’ve never seen such a small, miserable king size room in my life. The door opened right into the room (a normal hotel layout has the bathroom on the right or left and a small walkway into the room), with the door almost touching the bed. It was a corner room so the layout was somewhat odd. We kept hearing strange noises, only to realise it was the lift outside the room and, finally, upon opening the curtains to check out the view, we had an extremely small window facing a wall. In fairness to the Radisson, we could have asked to be moved but we were in a rush to get out and meet friends. However, this room was over-sold (and, in my mind, over-priced).

The breakfast selection was pretty good, although get there before 10 as we found on the first day that not all of the selection was available and, despite being kept heated, a lot of it was cold. We arrived before 10 on the Sunday and it was much better. They do have a great pancake machine.

The staff are friendly and helpful however they seemed unsure how to respond when I checked out and advised I was really disappointed with the room. The hotel is in a good location and is clean. My departing impression is that it’s not much different to a budget hotel, and this was never my impression of Radisson before but perhaps that’s just my misunderstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room - fab views and big windows (we caught a peak when one was being cleaned). If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Tinablue,
Many thanks for your review and sharing your experience with us.
A pitty you were in a rush as we would happily reallocated your room, unfortunately some of the lower floor corner rooms have not the best of views,I can highly recommend the top floors.
I am plaesed that you enjoyed our Super breakfast and our pancakes, I have addressed already the temperature with our Executive chef.
Serving with a smile is what I expect from each and one of our employees and I am very disappointed to hear that your departure was disappointing.
Once again many thanks for your honest feedback and please let me know if you want to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed only for a night but it was the worst experience ever. No soap in the bathrooom, Remote for the TV wasnt working, Bed was moving freely all over the place. Nothing special about this hotel at all even though I requested for a nice room. I really regret not staying in another hotel wouldve been better esp as there were no parking arangements too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabiha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sabiha a,
Many thanks or your recent stay, I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory.
We receive in general very positive feedback about our beds, I will follow up with our housekeeping department and get the bed inspected and/ or replaced.
We always do our best to arrange our best rooms for each of our valueed customers unfortunately we can not always gueantee this.
As we are a city centre hotel we do not have our own parking, however we have rate agreement with the next door NCP.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent hotel, located in the centre of town only minutes walk from New Street Station, the Mailbox and the Bull Ring Centre. Great staff and a quality feel to the interior, rooms and food. I would recommend highly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoderickSmith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Andrew H,
Great to hear that you had a great stay with us, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,225 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing