We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the O2 academy and The Bullring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect for the O2 academy and The Bullring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night as we were going to a gig at the O2 academy and this hotel seemed to have good reviews.

The reviews were justified as the O2 you can literally see out the hotel room windows and is probably between 100-200m from the hotel. The bullring is less than a 5 minute walk away aswell.

The room itself was good and had a comfortable bed and decent sized flat screen TV....although it didn't seem to want to turn off and kept turning itself back on so ended up pulling the plug out the wall!

Bathroom was clean and I'm pretty sure it had a heated floor aswell....or at least it seemed it did.

The breakfast was nice, was served drinks very quickly and the staff were friendly.

The only downside to the hotel was its right next to a busy road so there is a fair bit of road noise at night and this is the only thing that has stopped me rating the hotel as "excellent". Overall had a good stay and would consider staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of our hotel following your recent stay.

Very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the experience and that would stay with us again, always great to read such comments!

Please accept our apologies regarding the TV issue; I can confirm that this was resolved shortly after your departure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    721
    514
    277
    163
See reviews for
129
772
126
742
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for the weekend when travelling to an aston villa match. It is close to the new street train station which is good when arriving and leaving and also for the match. It is quite central with 5 minute walk in either direction to some really nice restuartants. The bull ring shopping centre is quite close. It is a bit of a walk to broad street. The mailbox area has a number of lovely restuarants but you need to go early to get a seat on a saturday night.. The hotel itself is nice. The room is lovely and big and modern and stylish. Not the best as raddison's go but for €120 euro per night it was perfect. The bar is a bit strange. We asked the barmen for water when going to bed as he looked a bit unimpressed. The breakfast has a good selection in the mornings. They seem to leave alot of tables uncleared and there is people waiting however. But the staff are friendly and its a lovely hotel in the city centre of Bermingham. Worth it to stay her.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishchic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel following your recent stay.

We are glad to read that overall you had a great stay and that you will return - your comments regarding breakfast clearance have been taken up with our restaurant manager who has followed up with his team, apologies for any inconvenience caused as a result of this.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time this weekend, hotel is perfectly positioned for a weekend in Brum less than 10 minutes to the cited centre.
Had a business class room on floor 17 so excellent views across the city.
Room was very comfortable with soft beds (suits us)! & clean & tidy.
Staff were very good but I do understand the comments made by some people re. The queues @ the checkout but this did not affect us.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent with a good selection of hot & cold items - well cooked & very tasty.
We will visit again!









Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us.

Great to read that you left our hotel happy with your experience, we trust this means that we will be seeing more of you in the near future - we hope so!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great night away from home.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Staff friendly and polite but perhaps not the most knowledgeable, took them a while to find our booking and didn't offer any directions or other information. First impressions of room were very good, appeared stylish and well equipped. However on closer inspection carpets, furnishings and decoration were looking a little worn and mould around the bath and stains on furniture and carpet really should be dealt with. On the plus side, the view was fabulous and no traffic noise in spite of city centre location next to a busy roundabout. The very best thing was the bed. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and best night's sleep for a long time. Would stay here again but would like the issues mentioned to be addressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent stay.

You may see from our other responses that we are currently carrying out a soft refurbishment to all of our guestrooms, we anticipate these works to be completed very soon, in the meantime we hope that you will accept our apologies for not providing you with a room that perhaps didn't live up to your expectations. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in future so you can experience the improvements that we have made.

Very pleased to read that you found our beds to be the most comfortable you've ever slept in, and even more pleased that you had a great night's sleep - that is what we sell after all!

We hope that we will see you here again very soon (for another great night of sleep!).

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed for one night and needed quite a lot of help during my stay. The staff were absolutely fantastic and seemed to appear just as I needed help. They were genuinely friendly and caring and they really went the extra mile to ensure that I was comfortable. I received the same level of service from everyone I encountered. The food was excellent and my room was lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. A really big thank you to all the staff - your kindness was much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel further to your recent stay.

Delightful to read your comments and we are very pleased that we provided you with a great experience through our attentive staff - no need to thank us (although it is very much appreciated), it is all part of our service that we continuously strive to provide for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location is great if you are travelling by train - minutes from New Street Station and so central for the city. Always seemed to be a very long queue in reception which was quite annoying. The rooms were nice and comfy although starting to get a bit jaded. Mould around the bath is not nice. Free wifi which worked well was helpful, breakfast was very nice but the staff seemed to be running around chaotically and didn't attend to people for coffee etc in a methodical way. The staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay.

In regard to your comments about the condition of your room, we are nearing the completion of a soft refurbishment to all guest rooms which address the issues you raise, we are sorry for any discomfort caused as a result of this but we are sure that next time you stay you will see a huge improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this sitting in room 507 of the hotel, where I have now been waiting over 2 hours for room service to arrive. Calls to the front desk go unanswered. The standard of service in this hotel is easily the worst I have ever experienced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidMancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Very sorry to read your review following your poor experience with us - at your convenience please can you contact the hotel on 0121 654 6000 and ask to speak to Marie Wilcox-Perks, our front office manager, who would like to discuss this further.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,

Russell Markou
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. Designed by Matteo Thun, the 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. The on-site dining option for guests is the award-winning Filini Italian restaurant. To sip a cocktail or enjoy a beer, step into one of the 2 hotel bars, and keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing