We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not book!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stay away !! I payed 140 for a two night stay which I booked months in advance!!

Took ages to book in. Was given a room which smelt of raw sewage went to reception to complain the que was that long I had to to ring in my complaint. Was told this would be rectified returned at 1130 to find a party going on next door. Complained to reception heared the poor guy get abused and them 5 minutes later party started AgAin!! By now the smell of raw sewage was to much and I wAs up graded to a better room at 0030 which ment a robe and slippers!!!

I am due in work at 800 it's 0045 not happy!!

I travel a lot with work and this is the worst hotel by far my friends are staying in the encore across the road and have paid 100 quid less than I have!!! I have another night yet in this hell !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sams4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,

I am disappointed to read of you comments and was unfortunately not aware of your dissatisfaction during your stay, perhaps we can discuss further and look to make things right together.

Please can you contact me directly as I cannot receive any details via trip advisor.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    744
    523
    283
    167
See reviews for
132
792
134
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Dark and dreary from the Lobby to the Hotel restaurant. My room features a broken lamp eith misding bulb, toiletries that had been used, A bed that looked as though it had been laid on, a phone that was dusty and sticky and to too it all - dirty carpet. We can't get Internet and no one seems to know how why the pass code they gave us doesn't work. Food in the restaurant was awful and the waiter left my used wine glass on the table even with my second glass on the table. Improperly trained staff at a below average hotel with above average prices. Still eaiting for the hotel manager to get back to us after calling the front desk to alert them of this room's condition!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments - I believe this issue has now been closed positively after communication together. My sincere apologies for any inconvienece caused.

Please email me directly if you require any further assistance.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

When I checked in the check in staff were polite but despite being a Gold member of Club Carlson no upgrade was available which in itself is not the end of the world but is a benefit supposedly offered to the tier below and above. The room has a reasonable view of the road and Birmingham Mailbox but the bed looked poorly made and I checked the sheets to find visible stains. Housekeeping did come promptly to change it but when I returned from my evening meal with a colleague there was no apology from the management or sign they recognised there was an issue with a guest checking in and having to ask for fresh sheets. Have emailed customer services but heard nothing as yet. I am here on business and would certainly not use my own money to stay here as things currently stand. May be another group to add to the banned list, see whether they ever have the courtesy to ever respond.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments, my sincere apologies for your experience, of course not acceptable and will be addressed internally. May I ask you to contact me directly, I have left my details in your message box or you may find this below.

I hope to hear from you soon and move forward positively.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruabon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel was nice, staff were very friendly, the rewards scheme is worth joining, if you stay at 7 of the hotels in the chain you get a free nights stay, also free newspaper. I picked this hotel following an excellent stay in the Radisson Blue in Liverpool with my girlfriend, the beds are really comfortable. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Join the rewards scheme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J4MES2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! - I am glad you have found the Radisson Blu journey so far positive and we are looking forward to having you as our regular guest!

Indeed the loyalty programme pays off, so thank you for advising customers, you can join direct at the hotel or by enrolling online at clubcarlson.com

Have a merry Christmas from all the team!

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've stayed in the hotel quite a few times, it's location is great for the train station and the bullring. The reception staff are very friendly and keen to help, the rooms have air conditioning and extremely comfortable beds. Upgrading to a business room gives you a coffee maker, bathrobe and slipper and unlimited movies, you can then also request a corner room which great views and plenty of extra space. Breakfast is good although does tend to get pretty busy.

I would suggest you save your money and go elsewhere for dinner, whilst the restaurant looks good, it's italian fare isn't great and at times feels over priced. I've struggled to find one starter which I would recommend, most of them are fairly bland. The pasta courses are fairly similar. It's two saving graces are it's limited range of pizzas which are huge and pretty good and it's puddings which are well made. Also you tend to get the feeling that they have a deal on rocket as fair amount of dishes have huge pile incorporated in.

My suggestion, if you want a well placed hotel, with a good bed where you can get a great sleep try this place out, but have dinner at one of the many other fine establishments in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Corner business rooms are large with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review and great comments relating to service and housekeeping - I am glad you slept comfortably and the staff looked after you well, that's what it's all about.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment relating to the Filini menus, we have recently changed (as of 28th) our menus for both room service and dinner and have found so far great feedback to our new dishes, I hope when you stop by again you will give the menus another glance.

If I an be of assistance for your next visit, please get in touch directly.

All the best,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We checked in without a glitch. Our room was on the 13th floor and views were good. Room was clean and I loved the floor to ceiling windows. The bed was comfortable and the high standard of toiletries ensured a nice shower in the morning.

Breakfast was very expensive but food was good quality. Would probably opt for cheaper city centre hotels in future however.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms division manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience, I am happy to read of your positive comments.

Ir relation to our rates, I am not sure what deal you booked last ime, however, we do have a number of great rates to chose from, we also offer customers a advance purchase rate which is 20% off regular rates, however this must be booked in advance, if you did wish to stop by with us again please feel free to contact me directly for more information.

Have a great Christmas! Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good standard Raddison hotel. Very central location. We had room on 17th floor which had a great view. Staff friendly and helpful although service in bar very slow. There is a NCP car park immediately behind the hotel which is useful (and reduced rate for guests) but not easy to find as you follow the signs for Holloway Car Park, then you get there and the sign above says something different (New Steet I think) and when you get through the barrier it says Albany car park (This is the name given by the hotel). So just keep going for the multi-storey behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top have great views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review - indeed we are very central and close to all Birminghams attractions!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

All the best.

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,414 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,252 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing