We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Ranked #72 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Radisson on Sunday with a friend. We were going to the O2 Academy for a gig, and this hotel is the closest to the venue! We stayed on the 12th floor in a smoking room (which is ideal for a smoker, rather than going back and forth). Couldn't hear any traffic, or any other guests actually.
It's in an ideal location, the room's are pretty much what you'd expect from a 4* hotel, spacious, comfortable and clean. Comes equipped with everything you'd need.
The furniture is a bit chipped and the carpets are a bit grubby, but it's not so bad that it'll put you off from staying here again.
I will definitely return when I go to another concert.

Only downside - I'm not sure if there are stairs here. For safety, I felt a bit uneasy about that. There is a book in the room with all the hotel information, but in a state of panic and emergency, I feel like there should be a sign on the back of the door or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments! I am glad you enjoyed your visit. In regards to the bedroom carpets we are actually in the process of changing them, it's been very busy in the hotel and difficuit to get a quiet moment to do all the repairs.

I hope we will be able to host you again soon.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    749
    525
    284
    168
See reviews for
135
798
136
775
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Poor customer service:
I ordered room service and went over the order a few times as i could tell the gentleman on the phone first language wasn't English but still got my order wrong and only sent one meal up, so had to wait another 30min for my husbands food( and its great when they bring the food to you and tell you you only ordered one!)
staff not interested in my complaint on checking out didn't even receive an acknowledgement when I told her.
Tried to charge a room service tray charge when one is not stated in the in room menu, I refused to pay it and she said she would take it off this time but if I stayed at any other Raddison hotels I would have to pay it? ( I only pay it when it's stated!)
At breakfast we went up to get food and staff cleared our table! Hot, cold drinks & cutlery gone!
'Tired' decor in the rooms a bit tatty for price ( business room)
They let you out the back door to car park when you check out, it was a filthy alley and even dead mice, lovely! But by then you've payed!

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't have marks on the carpet, chipped and scratched furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie2812UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Debbie,

I am very disappointed to read yor comments relating to your visit - If you could contact me directly by email I can then look into your stay further and together we can look at options to make things right for you.

Best regards,
Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here a couple of times but I recently stayed on Saturday which was the best stay. I was upgraded to a lovely room and a nice touch when I arrived in the room with a welcome message from one of the managers. Food was good breakfast bang on time great location, comfy bed but I reckon the TV should be bigger in the rooms :)

If I stay anywhere in Birmingham it will definitely be this hotel and I will recommend the property if anyone stays in Birmingham as its modern and in a great location as well as great service. I have to mention Amie in reservation who is always a help. Thank you for the great stay guys!!

Room Tip: I like heights so higher the better but thats me
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafique U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Shafique,

Many thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed the king bed, they are hard to get out of aren't they? We are just replacing outr tvs now as we speak so next time your back you can enjoy the both.

See you very soon!

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for my 21st birthday and was greeted on arrival with champagne, chocolates and flowers in the room. The staff could not have done more for me. The building is lovely and nothing could be faulted inside, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle75120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Michelle,

Firstly, I hope you had a great 21st! That's a big one to celebrate. We always look to surprise our guests when we are aware of special occasion, so I am very glad you enjoyed the In room amenities.

We are looking forward to seeing you next year for your 22nd!

All the best,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at the Radisson Blu in Hamburg and found it fantastic I didn't hesitate in booking this one. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the roundabout so the noise from the traffic was quite loud. This got worse on the Saturday night when you mix in all the sirens and drunken people on their way home. The room, although large, was worn with multiple stains on the carpet and the lampshades, the furniture was chipped and, to be frank, a weird set up. We ate in the restaurant and had room service and the food was ok, the restaurant is very cold. Breakfast was good if you were happy with a cooked one, not so good if you prefer anything else. The mini bar is very well stocked. Toiletries are lovely and plentiful. Wireless internet very good. There is a very limited range of TV channels. My husband wanted to use the gym but was told, because he was on medication, he would need a doctor's note something he has never come across before and he travels extensively.One good thing was I did find the staff very good, although waited ages to get served at the bar. In a previous review someone says that this is one of the better Radissons. I don't think I will visit any others if that is the case and won't stay here again either.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mandy,

Thank you for chossing to stay with Radisson Blu once again. I am very sorry to hear your recent stay did not meet your expectations and would very much like to obtain further details from you so we can look at a positive outcome together.

Please email me directly when you have the moment with your booking details.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here as I was attending a conference at this hotel. It is situated literally 5 minutes walk from New Street Station. Swift easy check in upon arrival,which after a full days work plus a 3 hour journey alongside commuters is just what you need.
The room decor is a retro vintage style which is not my taste and leaves it feeling cold & impersonnal. However a standard double is very spacious & the bathroom is plenty big enough with the usual complimentary toiletries & fluffly white towles. I didnt find any issues with cleanliness,although Im not a traveller that gets her white glove out!
I did have an issue with a missing remote for the tv which was quickly resolved. The hotel has a "one touch" phone service which I dont think Im a fan of as it did take them a while to answer.
The room service menu is fairly extensive until 11pm and as I arrived too late for the last sitting in their restaurant I did appreciate the choice available. The food arrived within the time they advised but it wasnt piping hot!
Buffet breakfast is the usual cereals,breads,pastries,fresh fruits,juices,smoothies & hot selection & the restaurant staff are warm & welcoming.
I wouldnt choose to stay here, but for business in a central location it is just what is required. Do ask for a room on the uppermost levels as you can still hear traffic noise from the roundabout despite the glazing.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the high levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexDonut999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your online review - we appreciate the constructive comments which we can look to work on, we like to hear both positive and constructive so we know how we are performing, I would also like to thank you for your positive comments and hope we have the oppurtunity to welcome you back in the future.

Have a great week ahead.

Best regards,

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

After being let down by the booking system for a pre-opera dinner by the Hippodrome, and with less than two hours to spare we approached Filini's restaurant in the Radisson. Thanks to the excellent service from Natalie, Suneeth and Erika, we had a great meal, served quickly and efficiently. Our stresses ebbed away and we were in good time for the performance. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thanks Radisson.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerja2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_duffield, Rooms Division Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for mentioning all the staff names who made you feel welcome, I'm sure they will all be delighted to hear of your feedback, I shall make sure our food and beverage manager passes these great comments on!

We very much look forward to hosting you again.

All the best.

Sarah Duffield
Rooms Division Manager
Sarah.duffield@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,282 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
Address: 12 Holloway Circus Queensway | Queensway, Birmingham B1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel in Birmingham soars above the cityscape in an impressive 39-storey structure near the business district, convention centre and shopping complexes. The large 170,000 square foot John Lewis and the new grand central station on New Street are just a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has NCP parking facilities directly behind on St. Jude's Passage. The 211 contemporary rooms and suites showcase modern accents and furnishings and provide amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Experience the unique twist on the classic British Brasserie in on-site Collage restaurant. From sumptuous steaks and smoked haddock kedgeree to a classic British cheeseboard, enter the world of Collage where the theatre of service and unforgettable dishes are the order of the day. Enjoy a cocktail or beer at our Lobby bar or the Collage bar. Keep fit in the 18th-floor fitness centre, where skyline city views enhance your workout experience. The hotel's flexible meeting facilities surround up to 130 attendees with generous meeting spaces and equipment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Rezidor, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Radisson Birmingham
Birmingham Radisson
Radisson Sas Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing